We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great views, good beer..!”
Review of Duke of York

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duke of York
Ranked #74 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great views, good beer..!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stopped off in Whitby for some food after surfing along the coast and stumbled in to The Duke of York, an old haunt as I know it has great views over the harbour. We ordered a couple of pints, which came quickly, but well pulled, with time to settle correctly. And followed this up with a couple of Chicken and Mushroom Pies. Food was spot on and served with a smile, just what you need after a couple of hours in the freezing North Sea... We will be back..!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reuben_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    72
    23
    8
    14
See reviews for
27
121
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a 2 night stay at the Duke of York. The room itself (room 1) was more than adequate. Clean and comfortable and at £60 a night excellent value for money. The best thing though was its location. Central to everything with beautiful harbour views. Would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trueblue69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although it's a trek from the nearest car park with cases it's well worth it for the harbour view if you stay downstairs in room 1 or 2. The rooms are accessed from steps at the side of the pub and you have your own front door onto the harbour, a beautiful place to sit on a summer's evening and a fine view to wake up to in the morning. Great value too although you'll have to wait until someone else opens up for breakfast in the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy&Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Can be hard to get a table during tourist season, does get a bit crowded.
Enjoyed the excellent Fish & Chips lunch and the views of the harbor.
When reviewing this kind of restaurant, it is what it is, one hardly expects a Michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pub was small and cramped. A barman with a lack of customer service skills served us with two flat pints of lager, but at least they were cold... didn't stay for a second drink. Views of the harbour are restricted by small windows above seating. Far better pubs to spend time and money in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bird026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Called in for a quick bite recently , ordered two baguettes which were great value and just what we wanted . The staff were friendly and there were great views.I would defiantly return if I were ever in Whitby again .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hanzdatdodishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
937 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was very busy when we went in so couldn't get a table for a meal, we had to settle for a drink before moving on. The pub is typical of those overlooking the harbour estuary with good views when you are eating. Nothing more to say really, we had a drink then left, but as I said it was busy so maybe that tells a tale!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#69 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#58 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York

Property: Duke of York
Address: 124 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing