We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“takeaway not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr Chips

Mr Chips
Ranked #26 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“takeaway not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

called in sunday 24th feb to try a takeaway as in the the past i had a sit down meal here and it was fantastic i got a tray of mostly black chips and a soggy fish i had asked for haddock and got cod because the fryer couldnt be bothered to fry me one at over 6 quid never again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42alfie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    288
    92
    72
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“just wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've just read some of the reviews below and I wonder whether I went to a different place? The food we had was fantastic! We've been several times before for lunch on day trips to Whitby but as we were staying in Whitby, decided to go for an evening meal. From the start, the waitresses were friendly and helpful giving good advice. My husband had the Whitby crab starter and it looked brilliant and tasted as fresh and good as I've ever pinched from his plate! The wine was lovely. I had a Pan-fried cod, seared king scallops and battered tiger prawns
with mixed leaf salad and lemon mayonnaise- it was absolutely gorgeous! Husband's meal was also lovely and in a sauce that he loved. The staff rang for taxis for customers, chatted to children and I was very impressed with the atmosphere. I know it was a quiet night in February and not too busy but everytime we've been here we've had good fish and chips- this time we had food that would have been at home in a Michelin starred restaurant at a fraction of the price . I had a chance to chat to the chef who was happy to tell me how he'd done the dish I had- thank you- I will try it at home but I know it won't match his standards and besides, I'd never get such fresh cod. Thanks again for a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fish. Lovely chips.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was an excellent stop for the traditional fish and chips. I had the small haddock and would say for most the medium would be plenty. Service was friendly and timely.The desserts were good too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcallister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Whitby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The fish and chips from here are lovely, much better than the vastly over rated Magpie, although the service was slightly lacking on our last visit. The waitress didn't bother writing our order down and as such, part of it was missing. But other than that, the food is excellent and averagely prices and the service is polite and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrrible Take-Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have better things to do with my time than write reviews normally, but cannot miss this opportunity. Having paid the going rate in Whitby for fish and chips here, they were absoultely appaling compared with the competition. The only reason we stopped here was we were passing through Whitby and unfortunately chanced upon a parking place suddenly opposite this shop. The batter was soggy and udercooked as was the tiny fish that presented itself in a tiny tray with a tiny portion of chips. We drove off with these otherwisw I would have gone back in and left them on the counter! Only saving grace was a very polite and smiling girl who served me, who I believe was new judging by the converstaions behind the counter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AWTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chips also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mr Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing