We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service”
Review of Mr Chips

Mr Chips
Ranked #25 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Customer service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

No sure where the "friendly staff" are at this establishment! Have eaten here twice before and found the food very nice but often the staff "stand offish", However I have stuck with it and visited again yesterday (02.11.2012) and instantly regretted it! The staff were very rude indeed! As they were busy we had to wait which we were quite happy to do but the table they offered us was not to our liking (right up in the window) we politely said that we would rather let someone else go before us and were happy to wait for another table. At this point we were bluntly told "well we wont rush anyone out for you" which we had not expected them to do anyway! I then noticed that someone was paying up and again politely asked the waitress if we could have their table when they had left as we were next in the line, The answer was a curt "I will have to clean it first and would rather you waited outside until I tell you to come back in!!"

We were amazed at the attitude!! They were busy and obviously thought it was would be easy to fill our 3 seats when we said we were leaving because of the way we had been spoken to but what they forget is that it is NOT always that busy and they have lost 3 fairly regular customers.

I shall most certainly NOT be visiting their establishment again and advise everyone else to go elsewhere. We found another resteraunt not far away who were happy to accommodated us, made us very welcome and we had a lovely meal with friendly service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    290
    92
    73
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New owners?”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Always had super meals here, but this time the fish really was not as fresh as it should have been. Let's hope that it was a one off, but we won't be rushing back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank winnie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The best fish and chips in Whitby by far. Lovely restaurant, nice atmosphere, welcoming staff. Food was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackieC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Batter that melts in your mouth, but not cheap.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Seated quickly but with no menus. My daughter went and fetched some in the end. Wonderful fish & chips enjoyed by the whole family. My eldest had tiger prawns for her main, thought the portion could have been a bit more generous for the price. Fish & chip restaurant style furnishings but the prices don't match & £5 for a desert seems expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“More batter than fish”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pity about the quality of the meal as this is a really nice,clean restaurant with very friendly attentive staff...maybe we just caught the chef on the wrong day.
Looked like a large fish when it was served but took three bites to find any fish!!
When you are paying Whitby prices(30 to 40% more than what you would pay in my local area)you expect really good produce and this was not top notch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamEvvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chips also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mr Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing