We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Supremely comfortable, beautifully appointed house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beech House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marilyn B
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Supremely comfortable, beautifully appointed house”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house is so comfortable and beautifully decorated with everything you could possibly need. We had family from South Africa staying with us and they thoroughly enjoyed it. The house was spotlessly clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay in Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne E
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend for a family birthday celebration. As so as we got in to the house it was obvious how well appointed it was. We couldn't have wished for anything else. The owner had left a basket of goodies including wine chocolates crisps bread cereals etc. There was milk jam marmalade and butter in the fridge. This was definitely the best accommodation we have stayed in as a large group. Superb. Would thoroughly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
Thank you for a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here with some friends last year. They booked the house for the week during Regatta week and invited us to stay over the weekend. Wow! What a lovely place. With the head couple in the main bedroom, the two respective daughters in a twin room and their respective boyfriends in the other, we were lucky enough to have bagged the king size en-suite shower room in the converted roof space - with the most amazing views. The only criticism was that we had no wardrobe space but we had hooks just on the landing outside the bedroom door and with quality wooden coat hangers provided, we were able to manage as we were only there for three days. The house had a lovely open plan sitting room on the ground floor with tv at the front end of the house and a very spacious fully equipped kitchen at the rear. The dining table adequately seated all 8 of us at breakfast time, with room for two more! The white goods were all present and modern - washer, dryer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer. As well as microwave, toaster and every pot, pan, utensil you could need in a kitchen. There was another sitting room on the first floor which had a large tv and was perfect for the teenagers whilst us 'oldies' used the ground floor facilities. There was also outdoor seating provided for those sunny days on the lawn, or in the rear courtyard area behind the property. We were a ten minute walk from the co-op supermarket and not much further than that we were in the thick of the hustle and bustle of Whitby. We did struggle to find close parking as this is right in the middle of a residential area but we managed ok at this busy time. All in all, if I was looking for a spacious place to rent for a family or even three or four couples, this place would be perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Beech House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
316silver
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate Family occasion”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The property has been renovated to a high standard with nothing overlooked. The furnishings and décor were first class. We were a family of six adults and two children and we wanted for nothing. The kitchen was very well equipped even to champagne glasses which were well used.The welcome basket was very acceptable to all. The walk down into town and back was quite steep but helped us to work off the Full English ! Whitby had very fond memories for my husband and I, more so now we can share it with children and grandchildren.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was what it said on the tin.!!
Liked least: Ensuite bathroom in top floor bedroom a bit too small.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
Glad you all had a wonderful time again in Whitby and thank you for the lovely Beech House review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Came to Whitby for our wedding and this house was perfect. Such a lovely stunning house. There was 8 of us, 4 of which were children. Everything of great quality. Couldn't have asked for anything better and the landlord and landlady are extremely helpful and communicate great when asking questions. Will definately be going back. Wonderful location, just up out of town (3 min walk). Peaceful and beautiful. 100%. Thank u x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. Congratulations again.
Regards
Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilsary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beech House is the best. We have stayed in many guest houses in Whitby for the Goth weekend but this year decided to go self catering in a place big enough to accommodate 8 of us. This house was easily 5 star it was so big and very clean with everything you could want. We had an issue finding enough parking for 3 cars initially but everything turned out okay. Very close to the centre of Whitby with easy access to everything with stunning views over the town. I booked to come back in November at the same time as I booked this weekend and am really looking forward to it.

I recommend this house for everyone unless you have trouble with stairs, you will not regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom
Liked least: all the stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
Glad you all had a wonderful time. The goth weekends are very popular - parking 3 cars may have been difficult.
Look forward to having you stay again this November.
Thank you for the lovely review.
Regards Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapperley...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning.”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a beautiful house. Location is excellent. Stunning views over the harbour. The house is immaculate and spotlessly clean. Attention to detail is second to none. Spent the weekend here with friends and we all declared it is the best holiday rental we have stayed in. Beautifully decorated and everything we needed even down to toiletries supplied. The welcome basket was a lovely touch and very much appreciated and enjoyed. Will definitely return and recommend.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Many thanks for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing