We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service with a smile”

Elizabeth Botham & Sons
Ranked #3 of 15 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service with a smile”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This (upstairs) is a treat not to be missed. We always visit when in Whitby usually more than once . Lovely staff Cakes to die for. aaaaaaaaaaaaaA fuul range from a snack to a full meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank barker1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    127
    31
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
219 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

During a cloudy afternoon, in Whitby we were looking for a snack lunch an stumbled upon this , lovely , old fashioned restaurant.It was upstairs above a bakers shop, and at first we was a little hesitant to venture upstairs, however we did go upstairs and we were pleasently suprised, full of wonderful service and reasonably priced.We would highly reccommend this restaurant and will definatly dine here again next time we go to Whitby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great bread and cakes”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Didn't eat here, but bought Bread, Buns and sausage rolls all of which were yummy. Went back later in the week about 2pm and there was hardly anything left, so get there early!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ate lunch here last Friday, alone, whilst waiting for my wife and daughter to arrive in Whitby. Surely one of the most relaxing and comfortable places to do so. Service is second-to-none, tea is properly served and the pork pie platter I had was excellent, served with a generous salad, coleslaw and freshly baked bread. The menu is quite extensive, ranging from snacks to full meals, and there's a comprehensive range of coffees and teas. Little details are taken care of, to make even a simple lunch seem special. Bothams is a traditional English tea room par excellence – long may it continue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanmsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“which we had one of these shops in durham”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

From coffee, teas and anything else you can think of, pastries, cooked meats cakes etc then this shop is a must, best pork pies in Whitby . Either takeaway or eat in, you have to try it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank baltymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth Botham & Sons also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Elizabeth Botham & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing