We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth Botham & Sons

Elizabeth Botham & Sons
Ranked #18 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great silver service tea rooms - a real treat and refreshingly traditional for those stalwarts amongst us!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chugger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    120
    31
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
287 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went for a bite to eat on a midweek afternoon and had a crwam tea and a savoury tea. Both were very good, especially the cheese scones. Also had some Yorkshire brack, don't miss it if you are in Whitby. Lovely mmmm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my mum went for lunch and sat upstairs in the tearoom. The service was prompt and the staff were friendly. I had the hot pie with peas, and it was amazing. A very generous portion (especially for lunch!) and my mum had a sandwich which she very much enjoyed.

A little hidden gem in Whitby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slowlyfading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Me and my family frequent Botham's every time we visit Whitby. the biscuits, cakes, sandwiches and tea are fantastic.

Worth a visit and definate value for money!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katkins1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea and sympathy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is timeless you name it it is all there,cakes buns baps sandwiches more teas than you can wish for and lovely staff

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth Botham & Sons also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Elizabeth Botham & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing