We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant steak night, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green's - CLOSED

Green's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $64
Cuisines: French, British, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Green’s multi award winning Restaurant & Bistro has one of those enviable, picturesque settings, nestled close to the busy fishing harbour of this charming, bustling coastal town in Whitby, North Yorkshire, and the stunning backdrop of the North York Moors.Rob Green has created a winning combination at Green’s Restaurant & Bistro by offering two distinct dining experiences - a buzzy Bistro atmosphere downstairs, and the more formal - but equally welcoming - 'Upstairs at Green's'.As National Seafood Chef of the Year, Rob offers a menu that is attentive to the surrounding bounty from the coast, and with his daily contact with the best local seafood suppliers and skippers of the local trawlers, he can ensure a menu that boasts the best of ‘The Catch of the day'Prime local meats and game are also a speciality, and by making the most of the landscape as his larder, with its abundance of fresh local produce, means that Rob changes the menu frequently to offer you “the best of the day”. This has been instrumental in Green’s Restaurant & Bistro being recognised as not only one of the finest restaurants in Whitby, but one of the finest restaurants in North Yorkshire.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant steak night, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've only ever eaten here when they have a deal on, as the dishes on the regular menu I think are just too pricey, and judging by some negative reviews on here I am apprehensive about risking wasting my money. I've had the prawn cocktail and moules frites at lunchtime which were both very good, especially at £10 for 2 courses. An absolute steal!
I've also eaten on Steak Night, and I have to say it was excellent! (They do this every Wednesday night, two steaks and a bottle of wine for £36) Decent sized, well cooked sirloin steak, and very generous portions of fries and dressed salad. Extras like onion rings, peppercorn sauce and grilled mushrooms are about £2 each (i was greedy and ordered them all!) We all had lots of food and were very happy :)
My only complaint would be that my friend's vegetarian meal was a very mean portion, considering the generous size of portions the diners around us being served with, I felt quite sorry for her as she looked down at her tiny lasagne.

All in all, the food I have eaten at Greens has been great. But, I dont think I will bother ever dining from the regular menu as I'm not convinced the food will be worth the high prices... the fact that they seem to be drawing the diners in with offers and deals suggests that I'm not the only one who feels this way?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jessrp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    163
    97
    65
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wednesday - Steak Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Absolutely fantastic meal on steak night. Booked a booth table in advance, recommended by our b & b !
Steaks were well cooked, chips amazing and a great salad, all washed down with a lovely bottle of wine, thoroughly enjoyed a great meal at an amazing price. Staff were lovely too. When back in Whitby, we will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the second time that we have visited the resteraunt and although the food comes with a high price, it's well worth a trip!! Having decided to go for the starters we enjoyed scallops and tiger prawns, beautifully presented and very tasty. For the main courses we had greens fish pie which was beautiful, large chunks of fish and a creamy sauce, we also ordered the belly pork, ample piece of meat along with a rib and mash. Unable to squeeze a desert in but to tempted to say no, we had the sharing seaside plate, we were not disappointed. The platter arrived looking like a Heston creation with a pal tree ice cream, scalloped shortbread, donuts and candy floss. Beautiful food and a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollynoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunnington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked via Twitter, fab meal, lovely setting, great service. It gets better and better, special lunch menu is so good. Will go back soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food in a culinary desert.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

On holiday in North Yorkshire Whitby seemed a place to visit. Big mistake - it was tacky and totally over-hyped for its maritime and literary connections. With every third retail establishment seemingly selling over-priced fish and chips the smell of degrading chip fat hung heavy in the air. If it had not been for finding the civilised ambience of Green's the day would have been totally wasted. A good value lunch menu at £10 was enjoyed by two of our party but those who had items off the main menu found that they were less good value for money. Nice interesting food, and well prepared, but a little too expensive for what they were. I suppose that if you are the only decent eating establishment in town you can push the price barrier. The main downside was the slow service. One front-of-house person struggled to cope with the custom whilst the cooking brigade, having prepared the food, were seen to be just standing around chatting whilst the dishes sat on a hot counter just waiting to be delivered to our table. Not good enough for a restaurant that gets good reviews.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green's also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing