We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Magpie Cafe

Magpie Cafe
Ranked #20 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent meals and friendly service - well worth visiting. Recommend booking a table due to popularity.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,820
    1,230
    565
    229
    160
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haxey
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Accessible cafe for those with limited mobility”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I've been to the Magpie Cafe many times over the years but this was the first time in a mobility scooter. The menu was huge as usual with a list of fresh fish displayed on the monitors around the building. Not going to spend much time on the food as there are many reviews covering the menu.

Access to the cafe is normally a climb up a set of steep steps but with elevator access to the first floor it's now easier to get to one of the favourite eating places in Whitby. To gain access you need to get to the elevator which is situated in the corner of the take-away on the ground floor. This can be a bit daunting as you have to manoeuvre your way round the clientele waiting in line for their fish and chips.

But I'm getting ahead of myself; firstly you need to get the attention of a member of staff so that a table can be made ready near the elevator. This was only a short wait of less than 5 minutes then we were off in the elevator (room only for one scooter and a carer).

Once through the throng of holidaymakers and into the elevator we were placed at a table near the elevator. No complaints on the quality of the food, nor the access into the first floor. Staff were they're usual self of pleasantness. Getting out of the cafe is a bit more difficult as the elevator door opens outward onto the line of people waiting at the take-away.

So for accessibility it's a great step up (no pun intended).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Optime_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We always eat at the Magpie Cafe when in Whitby and have never been disappointed. Good value for money and completely stuffed. I have read the negative reviews and wonder if we have been lucky or the other people unlucky. I can only sympathise for those who have obviously picked a bad day to eat at the Magpie. Readers take note.....this is not a wheelchair friendly establishment and the stairs tricky for anybody with walking difficulties. That said we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barneswallisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“*****wow*****”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Now, if you are looking for a tablecloth and a waiter to pour you wine then this place isn't for you, but if you want fish at it's very freshest then you're in the right place. We have eaten here many times usually choosing fish and chips which are very good. Today I had scollops and langoustine thermidor which was exceptional, no tasteless rubbery fish here just delicious fresh fish cooked to perfection.

A word of warning, if you think that you will just pop in on your next vist to Whitby and it's a weekend and or nice weather then you will probably be disappointed as you will have to queue. So plan your visit and book a table, it's well worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staindrop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just have to eat here when we are in Whitby. The fish and chips are second to none. We usually have the cod and haddock bites and boy, what a plateful! Luckily, we were very hungry after having danced the afternoon away at the 60's music festival.

You might have to queue to get in, depending on the time of day, but it is well worth the wait. There is an extensive menu; it's not just fish and chips, but that is what the Magpie does best, we think. The service is excellent and the staff are very efficient and friendly. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carnivalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Magpie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing