We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Lovely - Perfect Little House”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Corner House

The lounge, from the dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge. Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge.
Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Our open plan kitchen!
The Green Room - with its super comfy king size bed (with super king sized duvet!).
The Blue Room - with two gorgeously comfy single beds (with double duvets!).
Our shower room.
Yes, this really is the view from almost every room in the cottage!
Another photo of the Tour De Yorkshire passing The Corner House on 1 May 2015!
View of the harbour
View of the east side and St Mary's Church
View of the Abbey and St Mary's Church from the beach
The star rating taking pride of place!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bevtherev...
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Lovely - Perfect Little House”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I had no doubt that The Corner House would be a lovely place to stay due to its location and information I had read about it. When we arrived and stepped foot inside we knew instantly that we had made the right decision. It is in a fantastic location, 2mins from the cobbled streets, many quaint shops and the renowned 199 steps. Not to mention the eating places.

The house itself was cosy, good central heating, bathroom with a really good shower. The bed in the double room was incredibly comfy complete with TV, although the reception wasn't good in there. Kitchen had everything needed. In the living area had table and chairs, two sofas (which to be honest were a bit uncomfortable presumably with all the wear and tear (feeling the springs) but was adequate for the short stay.

Plenty of books, games, videos and a handy guide on Whitby together with the instructions for the kitchen /heating etc. You really couldn't fault the place.

Fab communications and help/advice(if needed) was always available from Nichola.

We are regularly visitors to Whitby and no doubt at all will stay again at The Corner House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Hi,

Thank you so much for your great review of our little cottage!

I'm chuffed to bits to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but am disappointed that you found the sofas a little uncomfortable, I must admit that we noticed that ourselves, so your comments reminded me that we need to get them looked at, so have an upholsterer coming out this week. Fingers crossed they can be sorted as they're the perfect size!

In regard to the reception on the TV, I'm not sure much can be done about that but both of the bedroom ones have an inbuilt DVD player and the main TV in the lounge will let you link up with Netflix, as well as all the catch up channels, so hopefully it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you.

Thanks again for staying with us and I very much look forward to welcome you back again soon (don't forget too to book directly via our website to get the best price!).

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliemarl...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star cottage.”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay in this well equipped, cosy cottage and in a great location.
Nichola, the owner was on hand to answer any query immediately. Will definitely be going back. Thank you for an amazing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Hi,

Thanks for not only staying with us again but for writing us another review - and it being brilliant too!

I'm chuffed to bits to hear that you've had another great time with us, you guys are always welcome.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiej21
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a fabulous few days in Whitby, staying in this beautiful, homely, cosy cottage. The cottage is superbly decorated, full of charm, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Ideally placed to just park up and leave the car until you leave. Its within walking distance of everything. Lots of bars, cafes, restaurants and takeaways on the doorstep. There are a good selection of games suitable for all ages, dvds and Netflix on the TV, if you fancy a cosy day in and just relaxing. Nichola goes above and beyond in ensuring everything is perfect, communicating from booking to returning home. Would definitely recommend a stay here. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
Hi,

Thank you so much for your brilliant review.

I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and like what we've done with our cottage. It's great to hear that you love where we're based too - it's great to be surrounded by so many great places!

Thanks too for your lovely words about me - that means a huge amount.

You're more than welcome back any time, so remember to drop me a line or book with us via our website.

Cheers,

Nichola x

p.s.I do need to say that, whilst we have Netflix on the TV, guests do need to use their own link to it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Great Location - Thoroughly Recommended !”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! What a lovely place to spend some time. The cottage is superb,tastefully renovated to include all mod-cons without losing its charm and sense of history - warm and cosy on an atmospheric winter's night - bright and cheerful in the sunshine.
Nichola's attention to detail and concern for her guests' comfort is apparent as soon as you walk through the door. The location is wonderful immersing you straight into the vibrancy of day to day life around Whitby harbour. The sound proofing is very good too ensuring a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. All in all a delightful experience - Thanks Nichola - can't wait to visit again

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Hi,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of The Corner House, our little cottage by the sea!

I'm overwhelmed by your kind words and am absolutely chuffed to bits to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it means a huge amount to me.

You guys are more than welcome back any time; whenever you fancy, just drop me a line and I'll send you one of our own booking forms.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinkytewk...
tewkesbury
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved it !!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely little cottage, it’s our third time & got 2 breaks booked next year, it’s a gem of a place everything you need for a comfy stay in Whitby, ideal location on the edge of the old town, I think where this cottage has the edge on other properties I’ve stayed at is they all look tired after a while whereas I don’t see these owners letting this one go the same way mainly because they seem to care a lot about the place , Nichola is a top host and always on the end of the phone, a little tip anyone booking whio doesn’t no the area , book a prepaid car park ticket for church street car park in advance with the tourist information it’s cheaper & you don’t mess about each day putting tickets on your car .also book direct with Nichola works out cheaper, enjoy !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2017
Hi,

Thank you so very much for your brilliant review!

I’m absolutely blown away by your lovely words - you’re absolutely right too - we adore our little place and stay ourselves as much as we can, so always keep up to the maintenance.

Thanks too for mentioning that booking directly with us is cheaper - it certainly is!

You guys are always welcome back any time and we’re already looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelh148
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a fantastic long weekend at the Corner House cottage in Whitby. The cottage itself is everything you could ever want from a seaside retreat, and then some!

Downstairs has a kitchen area, dining area and lounge area with two two-seater settees.

The kitchen area is modern and well equipped, with fridge, washer-dryer, oven, four ring hob and microwave. We only used it for breakfasts but I’m sure it’s well up to catering for a full on three course meal. Oh, and there’s a separate wine cooler too.

Dining area has a free standing table and dining chairs for four people.

Lounge has the aforementioned settees, a log effect gas fire and TV with digital channels and access to Netflix, YouTube, iPlayer, etc. There’s also free wi-fi and the whole place is toasty warm with full central heating.

Upstairs are two bedrooms and a shower room with sink and toilet. The main bedroom has a very comfy double bed with side tables and reading lamps. There’s plenty of drawer and wardrobe space for all your clothes. Bedroom two has two single beds. Both bedrooms have their own TV.

Shower room has sink, toilet and a very large walk in shower.

The location is superb, being at the end of the older part of Church Street, just around the corner from the swing bridge.

Honestly couldn’t fault this cottage an will definitely be returning again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
Hi,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

I’m absolutely chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and loved what we’ve done to the place.

You guys are welcome back any time and remember to book direct for the best price!

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanpink4...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a step back in time with a modern twist”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

beautiful and quaint little house so clean and oldie worldly comfortable and warm Nicola has thought of everything great location and great communications from Nicola thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2017
Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our little cottage by the sea!

I'm chuffed to bits to hear that you enjoyed what we've done to the place, together with our location, we're blessed to be surrounded with so many wonderful places.

You guys are welcome back any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing