We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Corner House

The lounge, from the dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge. Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
132 reviews
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge.
Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Our open plan kitchen!
The Green Room - with its super comfy king size bed (with super king sized duvet!).
The Blue Room - with two gorgeously comfy single beds (with double duvets!).
Our shower room.
Yes, this really is the view from almost every room in the cottage!
Another photo of the Tour De Yorkshire passing The Corner House on 1 May 2015!
View of the harbour
View of the east side and St Mary's Church
View of the Abbey and St Mary's Church from the beach
The star rating taking pride of place!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 132 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynda B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

lovely place to stay, close to everything. Lovely view of the river, Warm and cozy on a cold and rainey day. will visit The Corner House again

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
Hi,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our little cottage by the sea!

I'm so pleased that you liked how warm and cosy we are and that you enjoyed your stay. I'm chuffed to bits to hear that you're intending to come back to stay with us again too, you'd be more than welcome any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in the cottage. It's in a great spot close to all of Whitby's main attractions. Nichola very helpful and provided everything you need including recommendations for good local eateries. We tried a few and were not disappointed. Hope to return.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Hi,

Thank you very much for your brilliant review!

I'm chuffed to bits to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant recommendations that we've painstakingly put together - it's a chore but someone has to do it! lol

I'm really pleased too that you had a great stay, you're welcome back at time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicksR117...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love Whitby and visit 3-4 times per year. We will definitely go back to the corner house, it's a lovely house in a great location.

The house is well laid out, clean and tidy, and full of character.

It's in a great location, on the west side of the harbour only a short walk to the abbey steps with loads of pubs and places to eat.

Friendly and helpful owner Nicole. You could not ask for more.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Hi,

Thank you for your brilliant review of our little cottage by the sea!

I'm chuffed to bits that you like what we've done to the place and love too that you like our location - we're very proud of where we are and that we're surrounded by so many great places to eat and drink.

Thanks too for your kind words, I'm thrilled!

You and your family are more than welcome back at any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x

p.s though, we're on the East side of Whitby! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Hi,

Thank you so much for your brilliant review of our little cottage by the sea!

I'm absolutely chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and liked what we've done to the place, that genuinely means so much.

I'm glad the information that I sent you through was helpful too - it was hard work testing out all of those fabulous eating establishments! Lol

Thanks again for your kind words, you and your family are more than welcome back any time!

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
12JayN13
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is excellent. Just step out of the door and you are at the centre of things. Shops, restaurants, pubs all within very easy walking distance. Lovely places to visit by car. The journey to the abbey not as bad as we thought, all 199 steps of it!

Nichola couldn't have been more helpful with the booking and making arrangements to stay and clear directions were given so finding the cottage was very simple.

Very comfortable bed and the cottage had everything you need for a stay though we didn't really use the kitchen equipment etc as we tended to eat out.

We managed to find free parking but it was a good walk and I suspect that in the summer months you'd struggle to find anything.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Hi,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review!

I'm absolutely chuffed to bits to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the information I sent you was helpful - I just try to think about what I would like, if I were booking.

I'm very pleased to hear that the steps weren't too bad for you either - I get out of breath just looking at them! lol

I'm especially glad to hear that the cottage was comfortable and had everything you needed - I have to admit that we too usually eat out when we're there - with such fabulous places all around us, why would you want to stay in!

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wonderful stay in the Corner House”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a lovely time, being in the middle of everything and waking up to looking over the Harbour was wonderful.
Also fab Resturant's just a short stroll away.
Can't wait to return

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Hi,

Thank you for your fabulous review!

Yes, we love being in the very heart of town and I'm immensely proud of our views, so glad you liked them too!

Yes, we're very lucky to be surrounded by such brilliant places to eat and drink as well!

I'm also chuffed to hear that you'd come to stay again, you would be very welcome anytime.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
966dannye
Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab week away!”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Spent New Years week at Whitby in this cottage. Couldn't of asked for a better stay! Lovely cottage, modern decor, perfectly sized and located. Very clean and comfy beds! The cottage has everything you need for a perfect stay. Nichola the owner is very helpful and always there incase you need her. Can't wait to stay again next year! Thank you for a fab stay from the Earl family! :-) x

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Hi,

Thank very much for your brilliant review!

I'm chuffed to bits to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you like what we've done to the place!

Thank you so much for the kind words about me too, I love helping folk to have a great stay.

You and your family are more than welcome back any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing