We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Corner House

The lounge, from the dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge. Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge.
Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Our open plan kitchen!
The Green Room - with its super comfy king size bed (with super king sized duvet!).
The Blue Room - with two gorgeously comfy single beds (with double duvets!).
Our shower room.
Yes, this really is the view from almost every room in the cottage!
Another photo of the Tour De Yorkshire passing The Corner House on 1 May 2015!
View of the harbour
View of the east side and St Mary's Church
View of the Abbey and St Mary's Church from the beach
The star rating taking pride of place!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
toddy441
Willington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed in this little cottage for a weekend away, the cottage is beautiful with everything you could need .
It is spacious and beautifully decorated. The living room has all the mod cons you could need.
The bedrooms have again everything you need , the beds are large , comfortable and beautiful bedding.
The shower room is fantastic, powerful jets.
And to top it of the hospitality from the owner Nicola is fantastic , nothing is to much trouble and she goes above and beyond with help , tips and advice xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Hi,

Wow, what a brilliant review, thank you so much!

I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and liked what we've done to the place - that means an awful lot.

I'm also humbled to hear your comments about me; I just try to think about what I would want if I were going away, so I'm thrilled that it was okay for you.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us; you guys are welcome back any time!

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRH1
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Little gem in the heart of old town.”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The location is perfect. I visited both shops either side - Humble's Pie and Mash, and the Spiritualist shop to have a Tarot reading. The cottage has everything you need. A fully functioning kitchen, efficient heating, a large shower, comfortable beds, TV's in all rooms and WiFi. There is not much that hasn't been thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. Nichola the owner is friendly and helpful and communication with her was excellent. I will book again and would recommend the Corner House to anyone thinking of renting a cottage in Whitby. The reason we chose this cottage is because of the personal service we received and it's location and facilities. We also found it cheaper than the hotel we have stayed in for the last 4 years. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Parking can be difficult in Whitby during Goth w/e. Car park nearby. £7.50 for 24hrs.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Hi,

Thank you so much for your brilliant review of our little cottage by the sea!

I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the surrounding shops too - we're blessed to have such wonderful and varied ones so close by.

I'm really pleased that you liked what we've done to our place too, we've worked really hard to make it as comfortable and welcoming as possible, so am very humbled to hear that you appreciated our efforts!

We also like to think that we're very competitively priced, especially since we offer a full cottage for around the same price as a room in a B&B!

Thanks again for your great review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little holiday home in terrfic location”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just back from a week staying in the Corner House. It was a very well equipped compact property, making very good use of the space. Both bedrooms are a good size and the bathroom shower is very spacious. The location is brilliantly central with all Whitby's delights within a few minutes walk.
However busy Whitby was (and on the weekend it was) we always stepped back in from the street and relaxed. We would have loved to have stayed longer.
Car parking is a challenge (as is recognised by the owner). The nearby long stay often had no spaces but we always found plenty of space in the long stays across the river which is only about 5 minutes walk. We were also able to park on street for free up the hill towards the Abbey, also only about 5 minutes walk cutting down through the houses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern high quality facilities in a genuine old, central Whitby house
Liked least: The pot-luck parking (but nothing to be done about it in that location)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your brilliant review!

I'm absolutely chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay in our little cottage and I'm so pleased that you liked how we've renovated it, as well as where we're located, we can't get much more central and it's what we fell in love with when we were first looking!

Thanks again for your great comments and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Hi,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

I'm absolutely over the moon that you've enjoyed your stay and liked what we've done to the little place.

We do love our cottage, which is why I'm always so touched and proud to receive such glowing endorsements.

You guys are welcome back any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suem1977
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the end of September booked by my sister in law off eBay.lovely cottage on the quieter side of the harbour.homely and cosy well appointed.next door to a great fourties style pie shop,great music,great food.cottage well appointed and clean? Just a few tweaks like bathroom shower doors need cleaning, door runners(wouldn't spoil your holiday)and the rug in the lounge needed shampooing.would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.owner should be proud of her little home from home. very nice bedding and soft furnishings. just 1 thing that was annoying,people looking at leaflets in the windows perhaps you could fix to the unused door it wouldn't bother guests then.Go you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quaint and unusual
Liked least: The stone floor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your great review.

I'm disappointed that the shower doors weren't as clean as they usually would be, I'll have a chat with my cleaners. The rugs are due a deep clean in the next week or so, I'm looking around for some new ones too, just haven't found any like like yet though!

I'm also in an enviable location to be able to advertise my business to so many passers by and I can assure everyone that no-one can see through the net curtains, however, I am in the process of having some metal ones made, which Will be attached to the exterior, as these were only ever meant as a temporary measure for when the brochures had all been taken.

It's great to hear that you'd stay with us again and that you'd recommend us to your friends, you're welcome back any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your great review!

Yes, it can be great playing the 'find the parking space' game in Whitby but you'll always be able to find one.

I'm chuffed to bits that you're planning on coming back to stay with us and that you're going to recommend us to your friends - that is brilliant to hear, thank you very much!

You guys are welcome back any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David P
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grand location and comfy place to stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent four delightful nights in Corner House. We came by train, and the house was perfect for us as a base from which to explore the Yorkshire coast and to enjoy the steam train to Pickering. It is very convenient to the harbor and its shops and restaurants, the train station, and a terrific grocery store. The Cook museum is around the corner. Kitchen is well equipped. We'd would be delighted to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your brilliant review!

I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and found loads of things to do!

Yes, we thought, when we first spotted the place, that it would make a perfect base, as it's so close to everything, so I'm glad you thought so too!

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us; you guys would be more than welcome back at any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing