We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, Beautiful Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Corner House

The lounge, from the dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge. Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge.
Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Our open plan kitchen!
The Green Room - with its super comfy king size bed (with super king sized duvet!).
The Blue Room - with two gorgeously comfy single beds (with double duvets!).
Our shower room.
Yes, this really is the view from almost every room in the cottage!
Another photo of the Tour De Yorkshire passing The Corner House on 1 May 2015!
View of the harbour
View of the east side and St Mary's Church
View of the Abbey and St Mary's Church from the beach
The star rating taking pride of place!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lee-Anne...
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed here for 3 days in May . (not Long enough ) this cottage was charming. We had been travelling around the UK for 16 days staying in hotels, so this was a just what we needed, space and charm, washing machine, a Beautiful Kitchen, a gorgeous bathroom and comfortable bed and pillows. Bliss. Cottage was easy to find and handy to everything,
Nicole was amazing providing driving instructions for us and tips. Booking process was easily as we were booking from NZ .Nicole's communication was just fantastic.. and quick Cottage decor is simply elegant. Its just a shame we may never get the chance to come .back. If we did I would stay longer. Close to everything Whitby has offer. Fish n Chips just across the road at Mr Chips were lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen was lovely and the rain head shower. Quality of the property is top end.
Liked least: There was no Toilet paper. Just as well the supermarket was close by. Not sure if we were meant to bring our own. :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2015
Hi,

Thanks for your fabulous review and I'm chuffed to bits that you liked what we've done to the place!

Yes, it's a shame you couldn't stay for longer but I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK.

You and your family are welcome back at any time (and I hope you get across again in the future).

Take care and thanks again!

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Hi,

Thank you for your fabulous review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our cleaners do an excellent job of ensuring that the cottage retains its 'just opened' feel, which is exactly what we want every guest to experience.

You and your guests are welcome back at any time.

Take care,

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
Hi,

Thanks for once again writing such a fabulous review and I'm over the moon that you enjoyed your stay.

In answer to your comments, the windows are due to be replaced in a couple of weeks (I can't wait!) and I'll look into whether we can put another bolt on the door, as it may be a fire risk.

Take care and look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Cheers,

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2015
Hi,

Thanks for your fabulous review and I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay and how we've done our little cottage. Yes, we love the fact that it's really quiet, even though it's right at the heart of the old, east side of Whitby and we immediately loved the location, so I'm glad you do too!

You and your friends are welcome back at any time.

Cheers,

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Hi,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay in our little cottage!

Yes, we love the location as it's so handy for everything and with it being on the flat, it's ideal for every member of the family, so I'm really pleased that you thought so too!

I'm also really happy that you're planning on returning; you're all welcome back, at any time.

Cheers,

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
Hi,

I'm really pleased that you stayed with us again and I'm even more pleased that you like the updates we've done since your last visit - this genuinely means a lot! We are trying to add little touches to keep the place looking nice and fresh. Thank you as well for taking the time to write this lovely review, you and your family are welcome back any time.

Take care.

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2015
Hi,

I'm absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked what we've done with the cottage.

I'm also very happy to hear that you are planning on coming back - you're all very welcome at any time.

Take care.

Nichola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing