We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time at The Buck Inn Whitby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Buck Inn
Ranked #48 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First time at The Buck Inn Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Thankyou Julie n Steve for making us so welcome, rooms are lovely,great location,we had a really nice time,everything you need is in the room,loved the biscuits lol,very clean and comfortable cannot fault anything.Will definetaly go again, would recommend to anyone,pleasant friendly helpful staff.Ideal location for everything not far away.Once again thankyou.
Karen,Simon & Dinky. Lockington.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front have brill view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift60, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi all, thanks for our review.I hope Dinky is ok (so cute!)

Hope to see you soon from Julie and Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
92
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Comprises three separate room units located above the Buck Public House in the centre of Whitby - convenient for walking to Captain Cook Museum, Abbey, etc.. The owners have clearly made a great effort to provide quality accommodation. Conveniently located in the centre of Whitby the Buck Inn does have it's own Car Park behind the Pub although a member of staff will show you how to actually get to it the first time !! The rooms are quite small, but are well fitted with flatscreen TV, tea/coffee making/biscuits, wardrobe, drawers, mirror, etc. Bathroom with good shower. All clean and well kept. Two of the three rooms have good views accross the water.
Breakfast is not provided and this appears to be reflected in the price - however there are a number a places to eat close by. Staff and owners friendly and helpful.
The Pub itself is not to my taste - three TV screens and music speakers all around. We had a drink in the bar in the evening, but soon left - no one else there either. However there is no noise from the Pub in the rooms.
Very good value accommodation especially for the centre of Whitby. I would stay here again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

thanks Julie n Steve , n your staff for a a fantastic new year, best LAGER in whitby !. you made us all feel so welcome we picked the room on the front spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed and lovely views of the abbey and harbour. central location. we will definitely go back ,and i would recommend THE BUCK INN.. Angie, Clive. Chad n Becky.... Barnsley

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed the room, location and views.
The room was compact but spotlessly clean and well fitted out , Julie & Steve were very welcoming hosts.
It has to be borne in mind that the Buck is a pub and a busy one at that so there will be noise in the evenings, especially on the Karaoke night, The car park is a big advantage, to find it go along Cliff St and turn into the pay & display car park, at the far right corner is a narrow entrance into the Buck's car park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here for part of Whitby regatta. Lovely views of the harbour and old town from bedroom window. Pleasant room. Small en suite. No breakfast included, but I was allowed to use microwave to heat my own porridge. Was very convenient position. The only down side was the extreme noise from the bar when there was entertainment. I'm not sure if it went on later than usual because it was the regatta, but it did go on very late on one occasion in particular. But the rest of the time it was ok. Hosts very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anndante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

What a little gem this pub is. It's right overlooking the harbour and Abbey on the main drag through the west side on Whitby. Step inside and you're met with a great welcome from Steve, Julie and the staff at the Buck Inn, they pull a pretty good pint too. We've stumbled in there on Kareoke nights, and live music nights - what a great atmosphere, we always end up dancing around, meeting great new people and having a brilliant night out.

The rooms are all newly refurbished with en-suite bathrooms, very tasteful, very clean, cosy and with amazing views across the River Esk up towards Whitby Abbey. Our little well behaved dog, a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel is always made extremely welcome and likes nothing more than to plonk himself down in front of the roaring open fire, he has made friends with the owners dog Alfie who is the same breed.

I would recommend the Buck Inn to anyone coming to Whitby who is after having a good night out, and I would recommend the rooms at the Buck for the comfort and convenience of anyone wanting to stay in the centre of Whitby.

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms which look out over the Abbey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikatwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Very last minute booking with two little Terriers whom we had in the room with us. We arrived and were greeted by Julie, a very nice welcome and were shown the room which was at the back of the hotel overlooking someones washing and a terrace. Julie showed us the car park, secure but very narrow entrance to it. Quite steep stairs up to room so had to carry the dogs up and down. The room was immaculate but very small. It had a large bed which took up all the room, no chair just wardrobe and drawers so had to put clothes etc on the drawers which had the tea making facilities on it. One hook on the back of the door for coats. The mattress was solid and I'm sorry to say unconfortable. Tiny bathroom, you had to go in and close the door to get to the toilet and the heated towel rail did not come on. New towels needed. Julie was very helpful with local information and recommended places to eat. We were told no breakfast was available but sent to a cafe over the bridge for a discounted breakfast. The fire alarm went off 3 times at 9.30 p.m on the second night which was a little disturbing and the noise from the pub next door kept us awake until it closed. We were woken the next morning at 7 a.m. by beer kegs being handled and gave up trying to get back to sleep. This place was booked because of being pet friendly, Julie"s dog came to meet our two terriers on the landing and our rescued boy cocked his leg against a fire hydrant but I thought I had stopped him from doing anything. Later that evening we were told that he had wee"ed and we would have to pay £30.00 to have the carpet cleaned which we did, we were also told that they had looked through the bedroom window when we had gone for something to eat and the rescue was siting on the bed and they don't allow dog's on the bed. We explained he was a rescue and we were unaware he could get on the bed, all in all it made us feel very uncomfortable. We deliberately booked a place that said they were pet friendly but I think Julie may need to re-think whether she is happy having dogs in the room. The room would be very small for anything larger then small Terriers and the stairs would be a problem so I would not recommend this hotel for pet owners. On your own the location is excellent, but when booking ask for one of the front rooms overlooking the harbour but again not for an elderly person with such steep stairs.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms are small but have harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift60, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated.
Unfortunately we do have a pub next door which can be noisy, but so can ours with our delivery at 7am , these are things which are however out of my control.
The fire alarm did go off and all we can do is apologize once again to you for any inconvenience caused( 4 sensors have since been replaced).
Sorry if your towels were not changed, we are very conscious about saving our planet, our policy is to change them if they are damp or on the floor.
Now we are aware there is a problem with the towel rail we will investigate and repair or replace as required.
We will now put more photos on trip advisor so that people looking for accommodation can see exactly what the rooms are like for size and storage.
We will always be a pet friendly but we have decided not to take new guests with dogs, all of our previous well behaved dogs are more than welcome.

Thanks again and the best of luck with your new guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#65 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#89 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#47 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: 11 St. Annes Staith, Whitby YO21 3PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Buck Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing