We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of The Langley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Langley
Ranked #1 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Couldnt fault the Langley Hotel it was absolutely fabulous. If they were on Four in a Bed on Channel 4 we would have to give them 10 for everything it was magnificent.

We would definitely recommend it to anybody.

Tom & Debs

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsterBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

I'm don't know about the four in a bed but the score of 10 was very nice & thank you for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 298 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Managed to book the last room with a couple of events on in whitby. Free parking around the crescent and a good location with sea views. The owner Bob was really very friendly, the hotel i believe has only 6 rooms. We had room four which had a sea view, really very nicely decorated and very clean. All you could want with a good choice for breakfast. would recommend and return without question.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay we enjoyed your company we look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A long standing friend of mine told me about this hotel so I booked at the last minute and managed to get the only two rooms left for my wife and myself and a single for my mother-in-law.

All rooms were decorated to a high standard and thoroughly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.

Nice little touches in each bedroom such as fresh milk kept in your own fridge, chocolates, Taylors shampoo etc, even a box with sewing needle for minor repairs, scissors, sellotape and a shaving adaptor.

We had a four poster with dual aspect views that were superb, even the sea looked nice.

Breakfast was buffet style first course followed by choice of full English, kippers, or basically anything on toast that you fancied. If you were really hungry the Langley Special was for you.

The only problem we encountered was a lack of parking spaces anywhere, however this was quickly rectified when our host Bob kindly moved his vehicle so that I could park just outside the hotel. You would not get that sort of service elsewhere!!!

This brings me to our hosts. Bob is a really great and friendly guy who is very down to earth and wants to make sure that his guests have a good experience. He is helpful and courteous and as previous guests have mentioned does remember each guest by name. In each room there is a folder of information about the hotel etc, even to the point of restaurants/cafe's to dine in.

I missed Pam who is the other half of this remarkable double act, but my wife and mother-in-law did meet her and said also how pleasant and friendly she was.

Something we found out about Bob and Pam is that they are keen bikers and Bob showed us a couple of photos of his pride and joy, a beautiful BMW motorcycle.

When we visit Whitby again we will certainly stay at The Langley.

Forgot to mention the wonderful ladies that help with breakfast and tidy rooms etc. SORRY

Room Tip: We had room 2 which had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

"I'll take it you enjoyed your stay with us". Thanks for review looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned home from a weekend at the Langley Hotel for the Goth weekend the rooms are wonderfully clean and comfortable a lovely touch having fresh milk in the fridge and bob is the most lovely host he knows everyone by name and is alway there to make you feel welcome the breakfasts were cooked to perfection a fabulous hotel and definately 5 star thanks bob and pam

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to tell us you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 1night break room was big bed really comfy very clean bathroom clean .mini fridge in room with fresh milk n bottled water .very warm welcome from bob n pam always happy to help .breakfast was lovely fresh fruit cereal yogurt then full English very tasty will defiantly return in summer thank you both for a lovely stay xxx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We are always delighted to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us & yes we'd love to see you both again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well, we were back at the Langley March 13th to the 15th, snow was on the ground, got a really warm welcome from Bob and Pam, they have been busy again, new flat screen Tv's installed in every room.

The dining area has been moved to the front of the hotel, a great swap as the room floods with light, making for a wonderful start to the day. The lounge sitting room is now where the dining room used to be, very cosy indeed with what I swear is the most comfortable leather suite I have ever had the pleasure to sit on, very tasteful, great to read the newspapers or just to have a moment before going out or returning from "your" outings.

The stay was excellent as always, Bob, Pam and the staff always give you 100% the breakfasts were cooked to perfection, our room was warm and cozy even though the outside temperature was around freezing point.

What more can I say, back again in May. Thanks for looking after us, perfect holiday.

Room Tip: We have stayed in most rooms, all tastefully furnished, we personally like the ones at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We're delighted you can't keep away, always a pleasure to see you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just had a very comfortable and enjoyable weekend stay at the Langley. Beautiful room and very comfortable beds. Very clean and very welcoming. Nice view of the sea from our window. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
Bob made us feel very welcome and greeted us with a smile every morning at breakfast.
Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I think any room you choose at this hotel will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyhotel, Owner at The Langley, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Knowing you really enjoyed your stay and taking the time to tell us is most welcome. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 155 in Whitby
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langley

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $133 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langley Visit Britain “5 Star” Sea Front Accommodation, very high standards of comfort and cleanliness with excellent breakfasts, coupled with a warm, friendly family atmosphere. Services include full central heating, and all our rooms have spacious ensuite facilities with large walk in shower, complimentary toiletries, generous courtesy Tray, Wide screen TV, DVD Player, Wifi Internet, Radio Alarm, Hairdryer, Ironing facilities, safe & Fridge for guests own use, free wi-fi etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Langley Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing