We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing 5* Hotel where nothing is too much trouble!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Langley
Ranked #5 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“An amazing 5* Hotel where nothing is too much trouble!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 with two friends for a girly break in Whitby. The hotel is in a gorgeous location with wonderful sea views. We stayed in room 6 and had views through 3 windows which were spectacular!

The rooms are absolutely spotless, bedding is all like new and the bathroom is a dream. Our room had a wide-screen TV and DVD player, with a good selection of DVD's in the lounge to borrow. The small fridge was stocked with bottled water and milk, and the hot drink selection was very thorough and replenished daily. The room also has bottle openers and glasses so you could bring your own bottles.

The room was so well appointed, there would be nothing you would ever need! Sewing and manicure kit, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, alarm clock radio and even binoculars so you can look closer at the amazing views!!

We opted for the Langley breakfast and it was so fresh and well cooked. Amazing! They have a full menu, including Kippers, aswell as various cereals and fresh fruit. The waiting staff even remembered our drinks orders from the day before!

All in, an amazing two night stay which was really too good to be true. Gorgeous hotel and great service from Bob and Pam - they make you feel like part of their family!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xclairebearxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
172
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

For the weekend 12/14 oct we went off to out favourite place. Whitby. We stayed at the Langley hotel which in its time had been a billet for troops during ww2. And coincidently their was a ww2 weekend on in Whitby this weekend. Trying to get accommodation so late was a bit of a nightmare as everywhere seemed to be full. The Langley had 1 room left. We were welcomed and looked after very well on our arrival and the host bob and pam wee very genuine in everything they did. The food at the 5star b&b was excellent catering for all tastes with full English, kippers and continental with no restriction on what and how much you had. The food was cooked with the same passion they have for running hotel. The room was very well Appointed as was the hotel with lovely little touches that make the difference between a one off stay and a wish to stay a little longer and to return at the earliest opportunity. Whitby as every never disappointed though the ww2 weekend held there was somewhat of a disappointment as there was little or nothing there.
The Langley is a lovely hotel with wonderful hosts and staff which would suit all but the less Ambulant and is in my top five stays in over twenty years of travel

Room Tip: G for the room with the French bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Langley for two nights (17th & 18th October 2012). Very impressed with accomodation and facilities. We both read the reviews prior to our stay and thought they were a bit over the top - We stand corrected, they only did it justice.
Congratulations to Bob & Pam on a most enjoyable stay!!!!!. You really do need to stay here to appreciate the difference.
Does everything it says on the box

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from Whitby after an excellent 60's weekend at The Pavillion, but was very disappointed that the Langley was fully booked. We have been to the Langley three times, last time in May, the service and quality has never changed and could not be equalled anywhere else. Due to The Langley being booked we asked Bob if he could recommend anywhere else, and he suggested a hotel just up the road from The Langely next to the Royal. It was a very clean nice place, but nothing like the Langley. The breakfast could not equal Bob and Pam's Langley special in any way, it was nothing like. The rooms although clean and offered a good view, was nothing to compare to The Langleys sumptous rooms, for comfort and decor, and the lovely satin bed linen was not there, it was just not the same by a long way. The room entertainment in the Langley, with great TV and a DVD player - not the same in this Hotel with only a small wall hanging TV that did not have a good signal. So Bob and Pam when we are back in Whitby again, there can be nowhere else we will choose, and one day I will get that 4 poster bed. Well done to you both on such a great place to stay. Pete and Maggie from Lincoln

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've just returned from a 3 night stay in The Langley and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was very tasty and plentiful. Bob, Pam and their staff were very friendly and the service was A1. We would recommend The Langley to anyone who is looking for a 5 star break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCJG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

On arrival the welcome, the appearance of the hotel, the room, and cleanliness measured up to all the comments posted on this site, and the recommendation we received from a friend. Bob was the perfect host, with his knowledge of the area you couldnt go wrong. The Hotel was spotless, the room had everything you could wish for, including a sewing kit, binoculars for the lovely views and fresh milk in the fridge. ironing board etc. The breakfasts were superb, from the fresh fruit , cereals, through to the cooked breakfast and the Langley special. Nothing was too much trouble. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willowsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent personal service. Very friendly and helpful, loved the fridge on the bedroom. Great view and ambience...... Everything you could ask for was there superb will go again! Even an emergency sowing kit.... All put together with tlc. Breakfast was outstanding massive choice cooked individually. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langley

Property: The Langley
Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langley Visit Britain “5 Star” Sea Front Accommodation, very high standards of comfort and cleanliness with excellent breakfasts, coupled with a warm, friendly family atmosphere. Services include full central heating, and all our rooms have spacious ensuite facilities with large walk in shower, complimentary toiletries, generous courtesy Tray, Wide screen TV, DVD Player, Wifi Internet, Radio Alarm, Hairdryer, Ironing facilities, safe & Fridge for guests own use, free wi-fi etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Langley Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing