We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful willows”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows
Ranked #42 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Having just spent 3 nights at the Willows we would recommend it to anyone wanting a warm welcome, good home cooking and lovely rooms. Martin and Debbie made us feel at home, nothing was too much trouble,and we felt relaxed throughout our stay and will certainly be coming again! ps the home cooked ginger cake was lovely!! Give it a try, you will not be disappionted.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stargazerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 382 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2008

We (me and my husband) found The Willows via the Tourist Information Centre after staying at a less than satisfactory B&B in Whitby a while ago.On our arrival we were greeted by Deb and Martin along with a pot of tea and cakes; tea being served in a china pot and cups-perrrfect. We were treated like they had known us for years. Our room was perfect and things like the fresh milk, goodies, treats on our anniversary were beyond anyone's expectations, never mind the king sized bed and crip linen. On one occasion I had a problem with a Goth outfit and Dec was there ready to help stitch, sew and pin; thanx Deb!
We have since returned some half a dozen times and have now a never ending booking for all Goth Weekends which is total loyalty to Deb and Martin as our hosts. We have recommended The Willows to our friends; who now also stay at|The Willows .
Things like the china, freshly made pots of tea, preserves in pretty glass jars, victoriana cruets etc make this the best place to stay in Whitby and we have tried a few! Breakfast is a delight even with a hangover; Deb and Martin can tell ya wot we are like!!! We are fussy eaters but nothing is too much trouble.
I have returned with friends (no hubby!!) and still made v welcome. Next year we're bringing our 12 yr old daughter and have confidence that she will be well looked after.
Honest opinion - if you want to come to Whitby..you can't beat The Willows for comfort, hospitality, friendliness, cleanliness. Willows highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank emomummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

As soon as we walked through the door Deborah and Martin made you feel at ease, would you like a cup of tea and cake, that was most welcome after a 3 hour journey. We were shown to our room, infact we could choose from 2 as we were 1st there then it was tea will be ready in 5 minutes. We went in the dining room and there was a pot full of piping hot tea and homemade cake in the bay window, I could of sat there for hours. The pair of them just came in chatting Deborah was asking what we'd like for breakfast, we were also given a flask of milk for our room for tea. The room was bright and clean although being on the top floor the shower isn't very powerful but was sufficient. What I liked is it's a Victorian property and they are trying to keep the communal areas in keeping with the property. The dining room was lovely you had lovely tea pots and china cups and saucers, little glass pots for breakfast with jam, marmalade and butter. Infact it was a lovely friendly little gem.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at The Willows and we couldnt have been made to feel more welcome. We arrived later in the evening and found a suitable parking space not far away. We stayed in Room 2, which has a fantastic king size double bed, the room was clean and had all the amenities mentioned on their website.
A nice touch was the offer of taking a flask of fresh milk to bed, ready for that first cup of tea in the morning.

We were greeted each morning by Martin, and there was a choice of cereal and a full English breakfast, fruit juice and tea/coffee. The window seat is a must for those wanting to see whats going on outside, whilst enjoying breakfast.

Deborah and Martin were able to offer information about local dining and where to go for a drink, which was very useful.

We felt very relaxed at The Willows and will definitely be returning in the future.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank WooWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Me and My husband stayed in this Guest House for two nights but wished we could have been longer,
From the moment I rang to see if they had vacancies on our choice of dates we received a very warm welcome.
On our arrival the welcome by deborah was very warm and friendly this continued, on showing us to our room the Guest House was warm and outstandingly decorated.
Our room was bigger then we expected and outstandingly clean and bright. There was also tea, coffee and chocolate drinks available in the room with fresh milk ( a must for me - hate those small cartoons), as well as a small sweet tray.
Once we had settled into our room we were welcomed into the dining room for tea or coffee and home made cakes, whilst booking they asked if it was for a special occasion, they remembered the booking was for my birthday and asked if I preferred white or red wine - dry or sweet when we returned to our room later that evening their was a bottle of wine for me.
The breakfast the next day was wonderful just what you need to climb those 199 steps where we were greeted by Martin who was also very friendly and welcoming.
The little extras, friendlyness of Deborah and Martin and cleaniness of the Guest House made this a perfect stay which we will not hesitate to return to.
This Guest House can be found near the park and not that far up the hill at the bottom can be found the bus and train station

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ickleowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xund7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
286 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 35 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $112 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accessible, welcoming guest house in the heart of Whitby, The Willows sits close to Pannett Park and the Whitby Museum, just a short stroll from the town centre and harbour. Perfect for year round family getaways, we also offer disabled friendly accommodation with ramp access, a lift to all floors and easy to navigate corridors. A hearty and delicious breakfast menu featuring local sausages/ bacon or tasty Whitby kippers is included in your stay. We’ll happily arrange limited parking located nearby and why not pre-book an afternoon tea with famous Yorkshire tea, coffee and our own home-made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing