We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th visit, definitely not the last. . .”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows
Ranked #44 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our fifth visit to Whitby and where for most Whitby would not be Whitby without the Abbey for us Whitby would not be Whitby without the Willows, in particular Debs and Martin who run this very special guest house.
We stayed in room no. 5 which is a particularly spacious room, immaculately furnished and spotlessly clean. Having stayed in a number of the rooms we can say this attention to detail is the norm throughout this fantastic bed and breakfast.
The location is excellent with a 5 minute walk into the centre of town and is also very handy for people travelling into Whitby by train with the guest house a short 2 or 3 minute walk from the station. There is a lovely park over the road which is viewed from a huge window in the dinning room which is the venue for the best breakfast you could ever wish to eat. Debs will go all out to create any breakfast you could possibly want, with a huge choice, nothing is to much trouble. After 5 visits though I would find it very difficult to stray from a full English breakfast to die for and selection of toast and home made jams which would put the Women's Institute to shame. . . Seriously, you will not find better.
All this is topped by the two most hospitable hosts you could ever wish to meet. Debs and Martin genuinely care about their guest house, genuinely care about their town and genuinely care about their guests. You will not find better anywhere and we would not stay anywhere else in Whitby other than the Willows.
Thank you both.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 5 for park views however you will not be disappointed with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at The Willows during our wedding weekend and our special day was made even more special by the care,consideration and attention to detail that Martin and Debbie lavished on us and our wedding party.We chose it as a base due to previous excellent stays and are always impressed with the welcome cakes the clean characterful rooms ,the fabulous breakfasts with homemade jams and the local knowledge to help and advise on any aspect of your stay.All our party were so impressed with our Willows Wedding and I am sure any future visit to Whitby will include a stay with Martin and Debbie. Thankyou both from the heart of my bottom.See you soon

Room Tip: All rooms have different a character.All are quiet and clean .Also a lift is available for access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We're probably into double figures now with our visits to The Willows and that says it all really. I've not ever considered staying anywhere else in Whitby simply because the welcome from Deb and Martin is just so warm. The rooms are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and Deb makes possibly the best scrambled egg I've ever tasted! As for the jam, well, I think if they put a loaf of bread in front of me (and it's come close to that once or twice!) I could cheerfully scoff the lot as long as I've got Deb's jam to go on it.

Wonderful, thank you both yet again for a fantastic stay. Roll on November!

Room Tip: If you have a 6' plus partner, the super kingsize rooms are just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judibond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Visited the willows at the end of may for my son and daughter in laws birthdays Debbie and Martin are excellent hosts who are extremely friendly and serve a fantastic breakfast with homemade jams.Our en-suite room was very clean and comfortable.Will certainly stay there again and will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome on arrival that made our stay special from the start - tea and homemade cake. Great rooms with all amenities you require. Breakfasts fabulous with loads of choice. Owners very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyK1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed here once before and on our second visit we felt like one of the family! We came to Whitby for my Dads wedding who is a regular guest at the willows, and were once again blown away by the hospitality and friendliness of Deb and Martin. There is nothing they wouldn't do. They went above and beyond to make my dads weekend special, from cutting there toast into hearts and treating all the guests to a champagne breakfast, We have a 4 year old little boy and they provided him with a cupcake and DVDs for our room.The rooms are all excellently maintained and very clean.

Breakfasts are delicious, a wide choice available and nothing is too much hassle! Debs home made jam are to die for, pineapple I must say was a favourite but kiwi was nice too
:-). We wouldn't look for way where else to stay in Whitby, it's close to the town, there a beautiful big park just over the road which our little boy can't wait to get to as soon as we arrive.

Thanks again Deb and Martin, hopefully see you soon with the new edition to the Armitage family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Willows last weekend for one night and what a lovely stay it was. Debbie and Martin are friendly and welcoming hosts who can't do enough for you. Breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from and the homemade jam was outstanding. We were in Whitby for our friends' wedding and it was lovely to see all the special touches that Debbie and Martin had made for them. Thanks for a lovely stay. Would highly recommend this to anyone and will definitely be returning the next time we are in Whitby.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank snowybird1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
720 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 35 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $111 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accessible, welcoming guest house in the heart of Whitby, The Willows sits close to Pannett Park and the Whitby Museum, just a short stroll from the town centre and harbour. Perfect for year round family getaways, we also offer disabled friendly accommodation with ramp access, a lift to all floors and easy to navigate corridors. A hearty and delicious breakfast menu featuring local sausages/ bacon or tasty Whitby kippers is included in your stay. We’ll happily arrange limited parking located nearby and why not pre-book an afternoon tea with famous Yorkshire tea, coffee and our own home-made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing