We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Willows”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Willows
Ranked #44 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Willows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

What an excellent stay!! Four of us arrived at 8pm and what a warm welcome we received! Martin & Debs are a lovely couple and they can't do enough for you. The rooms (and the whole house) are beautifully clean, fresh crisp bedding, no black in the shower - better than many quality hotels and much more personal. The rooms are decorated in lovely pastel colours with real attention to detail in the decor and accessories. It's a real home from home cosy and comfortable experience. We stayed for two nights and each morning enjoyed an excellent choice of food from cereal to full English and I had a delicious fresh Salmon and Scrambled Egg mix which really was excellent! There is nothing negative to say about the whole experience and we would not hesitate to recommend The Willows to anyone - including those with disabilities. There is a purpose build ramp leading from the road to the house and a lift so extremely accommodating for Wheel chairs and Mobility scooters. The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk into Whitby. Thanks to Martin & Debs for a lovely stay x

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    25
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
203
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Deb and Martin really make you feel welcome and do anything they can to help you.

I stay in the basement room that has level access and a lift to all floors. In the basement room there is the option of a super king sized or twin beds. The room is spacious with quality furnishings and decor. I am a wheelchair user and this room may be suitable for wheelchair users or people with limited mobility. However, everybody has different requirements so I would recommend you visit first, (when possible), or check anything important before booking.

When I first started visiting Whitby it was soley for the Goth weekend, but if they moved the Goth Weekend away from Whitby I would not follow it. I still enjoy the Goth weekend, but now love Whitby equally, if not more than the event! Deb and Martin make it feel like home :o)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Another great weekend at The Willows.Halloween themed home made cupcakes when we arrived Martin and Debs are always happy to see you and the guests all seem to be on the same wavelengh.Debs is so accomadating when it comes to breakfast (cooking gluten free food seperatley)and there are lots of different choices.The rooms are clean with a tv/dvd player and the house is two minuets walk from Whitby town center.
I cannot recommend this place enough stay here and you wont want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dom004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Iklin, null, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's our 1st visit to Whitby and at The Willows. Deb & Martin (The Owners) made our stay a fantastic one. They treat everyone like family. Great Location we only had to walk to everywhere. Gorgeous Victorian styled Clean rooms .Delicious Breakfasts especially those home-made jams a different one each day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Reliably wonderful hosts Deb and Martin have yet to put a foot wrong which is why we keep coming back, even for non goth visits! Breakfast is just fabulous with great tea and superb jams, not to mention the scrambled egg. Delicious. The rooms are always immaculate, comfortable and welcoming. Thank you yet again for a wonderful weekend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank judibond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fourth visit to The Willows and I cannot imagine staying anywhere better in Whitby. Homemade jams are superb, the company and atmosphere is excellent and all is just as you would want it. Thank you Martin and Deborah for another perfect stay.

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms each time and all have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra_Anglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

we arrived at the willow,dropped our things off then got changed ready to go out to induldge in some whitby water from a cafe.later that evening we went to the dolphin chippie on the harbour which served the best chips from miles around,i say harry ramsdon who.
one day i hired a mobility scooter from the willows where i stayed,the first had poor battery life but then we i broke down in the middle of the road the company whitby dag who owned the scooter came to pick me up in a rolls royce i felt pretty good.the owners debbie and martin of willows came down to see if i was ok,then taht night we ordered a take away.
the next day they brought me another scooter out which i was happy with.
the owners were very nice and helpful people. the hotel and rooms were nice but believe that the disable room which i had could of been desighned a bit better.
we went on a trip on a steam train one day which had excellent disabled toilets facilities at whitby train station which was big enough for a party. we also visited the light house which is near the harbour which brought back great childhood memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakojunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#37 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#31 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence Guest House
Florence Guest House
#68 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Overdale Guest House
Overdale Guest House
#29 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#116 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 35 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing