We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week in whitby”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows
Ranked #45 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a week in whitby”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

we arrived at the willow,dropped our things off then got changed ready to go out to induldge in some whitby water from a cafe.later that evening we went to the dolphin chippie on the harbour which served the best chips from miles around,i say harry ramsdon who.
one day i hired a mobility scooter from the willows where i stayed,the first had poor battery life but then we i broke down in the middle of the road the company whitby dag who owned the scooter came to pick me up in a rolls royce i felt pretty good.the owners debbie and martin of willows came down to see if i was ok,then taht night we ordered a take away.
the next day they brought me another scooter out which i was happy with.
the owners were very nice and helpful people. the hotel and rooms were nice but believe that the disable room which i had could of been desighned a bit better.
we went on a trip on a steam train one day which had excellent disabled toilets facilities at whitby train station which was big enough for a party. we also visited the light house which is near the harbour which brought back great childhood memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakojunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
205
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Urswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've stayed at 4 star hotels and received nothing like the excelllent facilities at The Willows. My sister had a atroke 5 years ago and has mobility limitations, no problem for Debs and Martin - ramped access to seperate entrance for mobility scooter or wheelchair leads to spacious twin room with wet room with all aides needed. Lift to dining room took us every morning to a splendid breakfast with scrumptious homemade preserves, kept us fed for the whole day! Nothing was too much trouble and both hosts were so helpful, friendly and welcoming. This was our first visit it will not be our last. Disabled holidaymakers consider the Willows a no hassle welcoming B & B.with 5 star hospitality

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonjie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just got back from my annual fix of 'The Willows' at Whitby. Love the place - both of them!!

The welcome from Deb and Martin is guaranteed to be genuinely friendly with a cuppa and home-made cake on arrival for starters!
Rooms are very well presented and spotlessly clean, breakfast is fab and Deb's own jams are so scrummy!

Just wondering why it's only a trip we do once a year?? I would highly recommend that you give them a ring and book your break!

Neen & Abi

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just stayed at the Willows for the third time, every time we have had the same welcoming cup of tea and home made cake. The rooms are beautiful, each one different and so clean and comfortable. Bathrobe provided is handy.
The breakfast is really good, I had orange juice followed by cereal, fresh berries and yogurt, full english piping hot, then toast and home made jam ( well I did have a busy day ahead!)
We chose the Willows the first time because it was an easy walk to the station, no really steep hills,and we were catching the train to Pickering for the war weekend but we returned because we liked it so much.
They have a lift which saves you carrying bags up the stairs and suited our friend that has breathing problems and has trouble with steps. Our bed seems to get bigger each time, this time we had a super king size, which I would have loved to take home with me it was so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a fantastic time and were wowed by not only your 'Boudoir' room but also your fantastic hospitality and delicious breakfast. Your home made rolls were divine and the welcome drinks and
parking were just what we needed after a long journey.

I will happily recommend you guys to anyone else needing a place to stay and next time we need somewhere - you will be at the top of my list.

Room Tip: We stayed right at the top of the building in a gorgeous boudoir style room - there was even a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We got off to an excellent start as Martin carried in the cases for us and immediately served tea and homemade cake before taking us to our delightfully furnished room.
Breakfasts are superb including delicious fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of cooked breakfast, - I particularly recommend Deborah's oven-cooked mushrooms and black pudding. Plus homemade preserves, - nothing in packets, - even fresh milk to take to one's room for tea/coffee making.
The Willows is in a quiet spot overlooking very well maintained and attractive Pannett Park but is very convenient for shops, harbour and West Cliff.
The Willows also has the benefit of a ramped access and lift to all floors.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice but we had a double room at front, overlooking the park.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A welcome second to none with home made cakes and tea ! The hosts Martin and Debs were helpful and welcoming. Views of Pannett park from our spotless bedroom,en suite well stocked and toiletries replaced as required.We have already recommended to friends and tried to re book (Sadly no vacancies for our chosen dates),although the hosts did take our number in case of any cancellations! Good location for town centre. Breakfast was very good with nothing too much trouble and a fab and varied choice,including home made jams and recipe sharing service! Looking forward to a return visit soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#2 of 151 in Whitby
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#36 of 151 in Whitby
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#29 of 151 in Whitby
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 35 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing