We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and lovely couple, very welcoming.”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows
Ranked #45 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and lovely couple, very welcoming.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just stayed at the Willows for the third time, every time we have had the same welcoming cup of tea and home made cake. The rooms are beautiful, each one different and so clean and comfortable. Bathrobe provided is handy.
The breakfast is really good, I had orange juice followed by cereal, fresh berries and yogurt, full english piping hot, then toast and home made jam ( well I did have a busy day ahead!)
We chose the Willows the first time because it was an easy walk to the station, no really steep hills,and we were catching the train to Pickering for the war weekend but we returned because we liked it so much.
They have a lift which saves you carrying bags up the stairs and suited our friend that has breathing problems and has trouble with steps. Our bed seems to get bigger each time, this time we had a super king size, which I would have loved to take home with me it was so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
205
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a fantastic time and were wowed by not only your 'Boudoir' room but also your fantastic hospitality and delicious breakfast. Your home made rolls were divine and the welcome drinks and
parking were just what we needed after a long journey.

I will happily recommend you guys to anyone else needing a place to stay and next time we need somewhere - you will be at the top of my list.

Room Tip: We stayed right at the top of the building in a gorgeous boudoir style room - there was even a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We got off to an excellent start as Martin carried in the cases for us and immediately served tea and homemade cake before taking us to our delightfully furnished room.
Breakfasts are superb including delicious fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of cooked breakfast, - I particularly recommend Deborah's oven-cooked mushrooms and black pudding. Plus homemade preserves, - nothing in packets, - even fresh milk to take to one's room for tea/coffee making.
The Willows is in a quiet spot overlooking very well maintained and attractive Pannett Park but is very convenient for shops, harbour and West Cliff.
The Willows also has the benefit of a ramped access and lift to all floors.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice but we had a double room at front, overlooking the park.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A welcome second to none with home made cakes and tea ! The hosts Martin and Debs were helpful and welcoming. Views of Pannett park from our spotless bedroom,en suite well stocked and toiletries replaced as required.We have already recommended to friends and tried to re book (Sadly no vacancies for our chosen dates),although the hosts did take our number in case of any cancellations! Good location for town centre. Breakfast was very good with nothing too much trouble and a fab and varied choice,including home made jams and recipe sharing service! Looking forward to a return visit soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed there as we were going to the 60's music festival in Whitby. Very good value for money. The rooms were excellent and very nicely furnished with good quality furniture and fittings. The breakfasts also were excellent, the full English would keep you going for many hours but there were other choices as well and the jams and marmalade were home made. The owners, Martin and Deborah were very genial hosts and made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beruwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After staying here for Jan's birthday in May we returned in July for our wedding anniversary, as with our first visit Martin and Debs made us feel very welcome the room was great and breakfast lasts you all day we had a wonderful time and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilandJanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A very relaxing stay, made even better by the wonderful welcome & helpful hosts. The room was spotless & very comfortable, with a breakfast to die for!! Good value for money & would highly recommend to others. Whitby is a stunning place and cannot wait to go again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#2 of 151 in Whitby
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#36 of 151 in Whitby
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#29 of 151 in Whitby
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 35 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing