We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Willows
Ranked #38 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This was our second visit to the Willows and Deb and Martin really are fantastic hosts. From the tea and cake on arrival to the superb breakfasts, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms to their wealth of local knowledge, our long weekend really couldn't have been better. It's ideally situated for everything Whitby has to offer and we just can't wait for our third visit now.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judibond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for The Willows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed here for the first time with some good friends who are regular visitors. I was told to expect a warm welcome at a wonderful guest house and I was not disappointed. I had the red room which was truly luxurious with a bed so comfy it cuddled you to sleep! The owners Debra and Martin were truly wonderful people who really went the extra mile to make the stay perfect including catering for food allergies at breakfast to provide a fantastic spread each day. The location is great within easy walking distance of the town and I would thoroughly recommend the place for anyone who wants a comfortable stay with wonderful people. Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra_Anglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The Willows had all the touches of a 4 star Hotel, plus more. Tea and home made cake on arrival and bath robes in the room. The bed was huge and really comfortable and the room well decorated - the room had a stunning mirror that I wanted to take with us. We had a lovely weekend away and the feel of a 4 star hotel without the price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our booking was made fully on the location and reviews, which are all fully deserved. The Guest House is very comfortable, clean and the bathrooms are clean and modern. The ONLY guest house we found which happily show all there rooms and one of the few with superking size beds, which did not dwarf the rest of the room.
Finally the breakfast is a little gem, with the owner making her own jams to have with your breakfast.
The car parking is opposite the hotel on the road, but our car was parked for free, safe and visible from our room. Anyone who has been to Whitby before will know how most parking for hotels and guesthouses is via an County Council Carpark some distance away and at your own cost.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumblebee034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Willows is a lovely B&B. Martin and Deborah are very friendly and helpful, and know the area very well. The room was large, well-appointed and very clean. The breakfast was absolutely delicious - top-quality ingredients and not at all greasy. Home-made jams were a delicious touch as were the home-made cakes Deborah put in our room. The house is very close to town and right opposite Pannett Park, with its eclectic museum - well worth a wander.
Only minor negatives were: the road outside was quite noisy, particularly on Friday night when the local youths race around town in their cars; and the breakfast slot of 8.30-9.00 was a bit too early for us on the weekend, although it did mean we made the best of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Very warm welcome from Debs & Martin, excellent rooms, comfy bed, superb decor and very clean. Delicious hot english breakfast and superb variety of home made jam. Really enjoyed our stay and would reccomend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cridlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

What a lovely home from home,Deborah and Martin welcomed us with a cup of tea and home made ginger cake all served on lovely bone china. Our room was Room 1 at the front with a big bay window over looking the park and comfy chairs to relax in after our long walks. The room had a good selection of tea and coffee with a welcome selection of biscuits and sweets , which didn't last long !!!! The bathrobe was a welcome extra as well.
Had a lovely full english breakfast on very hot plates and Deborah's Home made jam with our toast really glad it was long stay, we had several day's trying the growing range of jam's.Thank you both for making our stay so relaxing we will see you both next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 151 in Whitby
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#104 of 151 in Whitby
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 151 in Whitby
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boulmer Guest House
Boulmer Guest House
#60 of 151 in Whitby
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#56 of 151 in Whitby
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 35 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $108 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accessible, welcoming guest house in the heart of Whitby, The Willows sits close to Pannett Park and the Whitby Museum, just a short stroll from the town centre and harbour. Perfect for year round family getaways, we also offer disabled friendly accommodation with ramp access, a lift to all floors and easy to navigate corridors. A hearty and delicious breakfast menu featuring local sausages/ bacon or tasty Whitby kippers is included in your stay. We’ll happily arrange limited parking located nearby and why not pre-book an afternoon tea with famous Yorkshire tea, coffee and our own home-made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing