We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House. Nobody could ask for more.”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovingly restored Georgian Townhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovingly restored Georgian Townhouse
Super king size double rooms Family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Lovingly restored Georgian Townhouse
Super king size double rooms
Family bathroom
Views across the harbour to Whitby Abbey
South facing dining room
Games room with pool and darts
Spacious rooms with seating areas
Onsite parking for 3 vehicles
Two minute walk from Whitby Harbour front
Sitting room with ample seating and flat screen TV
Bright and spacious kitchen
Master suite with super king size bed
Twin room
Super king size double with ensuite
Wood burner in games room
Ensuite bathrooms fitted to the highest standards
Seating areas in bedrooms
Grand entrance
Original features
South facing garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kenneth D
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House. Nobody could ask for more.”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house has been restored and whilst maintaining it's period style beautifully it is lavishly equipped with 21st century goodies. My family of 7 adults, 2 children, and 2 toddlers had a most enjoyable week and the house, its décor, its furnishings, its technology, and its central position contributed in no little way. Just a few pointers: ample off-street parking for 3 cars, large comfortable bedrooms/suites three with en-suite facilities,flat screen televisions everywhere, strong free Wi-Fi, lavishly equipped kitchen and dining room, each floor with its own separate temperature control, etc. etc. etc., the list is endless. Nathan Jones has produced a magnificent masterpiece. Worth every penny of the fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nopyhing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill48
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Golden Wedding”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by Nathan and given a tour of the house. It was immaculate and both the kitchen table and dining table set beautifully ready for us.

The property is elegant and well equipped. It was ideal for 10 grown ups and 4 children.

From either the front or back doors an easy walk to the Whitby quayside with its excellent fish and chips. Close to convenience store.

We were celebrating and it was perfect for our family. Good to get together in the kitchen or escape to snooker table or bedroom with sitting space.
Quite expensive in height of summer school holidays, but would be lovely in the winter too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaces in the house
Liked least: Garden a bit steep for the oldies.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fabulous house located right in the centre of Whitby, with all amenities right on the doorstep. We were a group of 6 adults (inc 2 grandparents) and 4 children aged 18mths to 14 yrs old and the house was absolutely perfect. Large hall with flagstone floor was first indication that we were not going to be disappointed and the rest of the house followed suit. Large sitting room accommodated all adults with room to spare and kids (and men) retreated to the games room every evening. All rooms bigger than they look on the website and each bedroom has own sitting area with television. One of the attic rooms has a perfect view of Whitby Abbey. Kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed including plastic plates, cutlery etc., for toddler. High chair and travel cot were provided. We were fortunate to have lovely weather and sat outside in the front garden patio area, watching as the Whitby tour buses passed by at the bottom of the garden. I would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone. The website simply does not do it justice. Nathan was a pleasure to deal with. We fully intend returning in 2016.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“if you want somewhere wow you must stay here brill”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

a beautiful town house like a mansion close to centre everything you could need or want on arrival you get a welcome pack it deserves a 5 star host owner made us really welcome ten ladies shared it is stunning all of us had a fab time didn't want to leave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wow about the house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harleygir...
Mansfield Notts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Break”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Every year we go away for a weekend with the same friends there is usually 10-14 of us and we choose a different part of the country to visit. This time we chose Whitby a lovely quaint seaside town.
Thistlebank Townhouse is a great place to stay, Its central to everywhere with the added bonus of 3 parking spaces at the rear. It was a very nice touch of the owner Nathan to give us a welcome pack on arrival too. We had tea, coffee ,milk ,sugar bread , butter and all the condiments we needed.
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated and the kitchen and dining room come equipped with all the cooking utensils and all the crockery and glasses we needed. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable over 2 floors. On the top floor both bedrooms have en suites and one of the bedrooms on the middle floor. The 3 other bedrooms have to share a family bathroom this wasn't very convenient when we all needed to get ready at the same time to go out. There is a room next to the bathroom which is used as a ironing room this would of been ideal to make into another bathroom because at the moment its just a waste of a room. A part from that the house is amazing. What was also nice was the fact that the men could play snooker or darts in the sports room whilst there is a lovely comfortable lounge to read or watch TV in without being disturbed. We spent a lot of time sat in the dining room round the table chatting and listening to music. The only downside to the property is the amount of steps so if you have mobility problems this place isn't for you.
Overall we all had a fantastic time and have some wonderful memories of this beautiful house and our time in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Dining Room
Liked least: Lack of en suites
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neet753
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a break with friends or family”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fabulous house, the whole weekend was brilliant. Loads of kitchen and dining room space and super comfy lounge ( needless to say the guys loved the games room) . Although the main 5 bedrooms were beautiful I was extremely disappointed with the +2 as mentioned. This was my room, it had no TV, no wardrobe , no mirror, I could find no switch for the ceiling lights so had to get out of bed-turn off a table lamp some distance away and find my way back to bed in the dark. Surely it would not be difficult to put in a hook to hang things, a closer table lamp and particularly a mirror? Also the lack of bathroom facilities could be given some attention to. Apart from my bedroom issue I had a smashing weekend .

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: The +2 bedroom and bathroom/ toilet sharing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey C
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wow what a place. This house is amazing and we couldn't have wished for a better place for our weekend away. The house is gorgeous, well equipped, beautifully decorated and very well maintained. The owner Nathan is a lovely guy and very helpful. We will most definitely be returning!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing