We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Whitby B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Seven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number Seven Guest House
Ranked #45 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Borders
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Whitby B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visit Whitby half a dozen times a year and have done for many years, and this is always our first choice of where to stay. Always friendly, always warm, always comfortable and always clean. If everywhere could meet this standard there would be no need for a Trip Advisor!

Not sure if they quite understand the concept of porridge, but then again this is Yorkshire. The wife says the fried breakfast is excellent.

5 Star all-round from us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PorridgeCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    22
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
101
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

So nice to be welcomed and looked after as if you were in your own home... Superb first impression, offered a cup of tea before being directed to our rooms, very quaint and clean, perfect for a long weekend by the sea, even in winter weathers! Highly recommended. They say that coming up north everyone is much friendlier and Lynne and George were no exception, very helpful, chatty, welcoming!! Will definitely be revisiting.... Well we've already re booked!! Ace!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our experience of this place was TERRIBLE.

The moment I walked in through the door the landlady launched into a barrage of sarcastic remarks about my personal appearance which neither myself nor my friends took to be much of a welcome.

When we were shown to our room it stank of cigarette smoke, and to conclude, they didn't even have a card machine so we had to trek into town to the bank before we could even leave the godawful hole.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pendle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just spent another great visit to this lovely B&B in Whitby we always stay here, the rooms are cosy and very clean, George cooks a wonderful breakfast and both he and Lynne are very friendly and eager to help and advise on places to visit, we would recomend staying here if you are ever in Whitby, most of the rooms have lovely views of the Abbey an Harbour.

Room Tip: Rooms with Abbeys views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawson_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Number Seven is a fantastic stay while in Whitby, the owners George & Lynne are both brilliant people. They helped my wife & I immensely during the planning of our Whitby wedding, to the point they allowed us to block-book the ENTIRE b&b for our guests.
During the day itself, Lynne couldn't do more to help my now wife and her entourage to get ready, even to the point of supplying copious amounts of tea while they got ready.

The rooms are immaculately clean, plenty of towels and the bedlinen is always clean. The hostess tray is very well stocked (including hot chocolate) with tea/coffee and biscuits. The en-suites are at a very high standard, plenty of hot water and extra towels are available on request.

Breakfasts aren't your standard Whitby breakfasts (most b&b's give 1 of each, sausage, rasher of bacon, egg etc) while Number Seven's are a true hearty meal, there's a choice of how you want your eggs (including scrambled); there's always fresh fruit available, as much tea/coffee/toast as you like (and with NO extra charge) and the option of a bowl of cereal & fruit juice as well.

George & Lynne are fantastic hosts, George's sense of humour, although dry, shines through especially during breakfast when his natural cheekiness comes to play; while Lynne (bless her) has to constantly keep him in check, especially during cooking the breakfasts. Lynne is normally always available for a natter, and will gladly give you the true history behind the b&b, including the story behind the Stoker room, and that Number Seven is the true building that features within Bram Stoker's "Dracula".

If you want a b&b in Whitby that's close to everything you could possibly visit; and to be in a very warm and welcoming environment, then Number Seven is THE b&b to use every time! We've stayed in a number of b&b's in Whitby over the years, and this one is by far the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandalorianwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Turned up on spec Sat 22nd for our anniversary. Warm welcome from Lynne, no fuss check in. Stayed in room 5 top floor overlooking abbey and harbour over rooftops. No. 5 not a large room with tiny en suite, but comfy enough double bed and all spotlessly clean. Water pressure a bit low at top of house, but usable shower and piping hot. Very short walk in to town centre, really nice and central. Lovely cooked breakfast served between 8.30 & 9am. George and Lynne are really friendly, genial hosts. They told us room 2 is best. Highly recommended, we'll definitely return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CoastguardsCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our first visit to Whitby and we couldnt have stayed anywhere better, we had a lovely welcome from George and Lynn who were very helpful in recommending us on places to visit. The rooms were bright and spotless and the bed was comfortable we found it very good value for money, we had a fantastic view of the Abbey and the harbour from our room. The breakfast was excellent as was the lively banter from George! We had booked for five nights but stayed an extra night, we will definitley be back . Thanks to George and Lynn for sending us the shoes we had left just another part of the excellent service!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#25 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Seven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Seven Guest House

Property: Number Seven Guest House
Address: 7 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Seven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Number Seven Guest House Hotel Whitby
Number 7 Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing