We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is like marmite..........”
Review of La Rosa Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Rosa Campsite
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This hotel is like marmite..........”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

You either love it or you hate it. Quirky doesn't even begin to describe the gothic eccentricity of this hotel, with its myriad of Victorian ornaments and knick knacks, candles everywhere, and furnishings which appear to come from dusty antique shops. This hotel combines shabby chic with gothic gloom, and it is definitely not to everyone's taste, including my husbands.

We were initially booked into 'Little Red', but our horror at just HOW small this room is (massive four poster bed with fur rug, but otherwise no room to swing a small mouse and certainly nowhere to hang any clothes) lead us to enquire about the availability of other rooms. Luckily there was a cancellation and we got into the 'Saloon'. This was bigger, with a vaguely wild west theme to it, including a large cow skull over the bed, and an absolutely massive copper bath in the gloomy bathroom. The bed was comfortable, but one of us (me) had to sleep up against the wall which wasn't ideal if you needed the loo in the night.

Breakfast arrived in a picnic basket, and it was very nice, but every surface in the room was cluttered with assorted items, such as an antique typewriter and a banjo, and we struggled to find anywhere to unpack the basket and eat the breakfast. There is no TV or phone in the room, and for those of a nervous disposition, it would be a bit spooky at night if you were on your own. The other thing to note was that the higher furnishings were very dusty, including the cow horns and the light fittings, and I spent most of the weekend sneezing.

We were staying with a group of friends and on Sunday evening we gathered in the basement for a private function. It looked very pretty, with hundreds of tealights in little tea cups dotted all round the bar. It seemed rather romantic until I leaned back whilst in the bar area and my hair caught fire. Luckily my husband spotted it immediately and a whack on the back of my head prevented me from losing all my hair, but something perhaps the management should take into account when setting them up at neck height behind the seating.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and residents can have free cups of tea when downstairs in the tea room or the library.

I did like this hotel, but I must admit that the novelty wore off by the second night. It is definitely somewhere to try if you like unusual experiences, but if you like the normal hotel comforts this is not for you.

NB: The hotel is not in the same location as the campsite. Parking at the hotel is either pay and display or disc zone.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room at the front of the hotel as they have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    47
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
36
197
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

we were the only guests on the site as it was a damp mid week in May so we were given the run of the place and choice of vans. we chose 'Tinkers'. Tinkers van is a new age traveler-style large van full of quirky knick knacks. It is lined with wood paneling and is probably the warmest van on site, It is definitely the cosiest.There is a wood burning pot bellied stove which blasts out heat. there are also smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors, which is re-assuring. there is a sink which is plumbed in so you can put water in it and it will drain away. I wonder if it is possible to have the water tank filled so you could have water in the van? the stove gets hot enough to boil a kettle on and we used it to warm up stuff in pans. I bet you could cook a stew on it if you had the patience. despite the rain we were toasty warm in our van and did all our cooking on the wood burner. There is a very comfy large double bed in tinkers. there is an extra child sized mattress you could pull out and a very cute baby crib built in above the double bed. not sure if it's actually still suitable for a baby but it might be.
Tinkers van is located in the bottom field close to the house and shower block . there are another vans arranged around a square central areal with picnic tables and a fire pit. the whole site is decorated with lanterns.
we had a look round all the other Vans. the one next to tinkers is the 'Elvis' Van which is a large caravan with a mirrored fire place and wood-burning stove. this would have been my 2nd choice had tinkers been full because the bed is at one end with the sofa being in-front of the stove. the other vans have the beds in front of the stove.
all the vans are very pretty inside
The next van round is 'la rosa' which has the prettiest fireplace and etched glass. then a slightly smaller van which has lots of pictures of Mary and Jesus in it,
the kitchen area is clean and very cute. gas rings for cooking table and chairs etc.
the loo is up away from the kitchen and vans in a wooden hut. it is a compost loo. not too bad smell wise. could do with a scoop for the sawdust though.
the outside bath area is enchanting. we had a twilight bath when the fairy lights were on. of course with it being in a grove of trees you have to sluice out the bath of leaves first but it is clean. The water is piping hot. it takes a while to fill up but it is well worth the wait to have a hot bath under the stars in a magical grove of trees.
we used the showers once in our stay. very pretty but water not as warm as the bath and needs to be run first to get it going.
we only went up to the top field once, due to the weather we stayed in our cozy van all the time.
the top field is however pretty magical, the big top was fun and would be a great place to hang out if you were a large group. the dressing up rack could do with some fresh stuff adding and fairy wings etc would be nice. however plenty of comfy seats lots of space to cook.
the 6 or 7 vans in the top field do not have wood burners and are a lot smaller than the ones in the bottom field. however if the weather is fair and there are a large group of you then I'd go for the top field.
bottom field is definitely more convenient for the loo, shower, bath and the fridges which are at the front of the house near the sweet shop van also your car is closer.
the drive to the site was not as bad as expected and our hyundai i30 managed it.
didn't see the Mr toad van or blue beard or swallow barn, due to us being too lazy to walk anywhere in the rain (rain storm) but we will next time we go.
almost forgot, you get free tea / coffee if you go to the hotel during your stay on the campsite.
in summary, the site is very pretty with lots of lanterns and looks like fairyland at night. it is great for romance but would be great for kids too.
the owner Amanda is lovely and she leaves you to do own thing but will offer help when needed.

Room Tip: tinkers van is the most cozy with best bed. want to try swallow barn and Mr Toad and Blue Beard'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny3hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just happend upon the La Rosa yesterday and spent a great night away.
The staff were low key and open.
We were allowed to take a look at a couple of rooms and we chose to stay in the quirky 'Stoker' room, really comfy, amazing view, peaceful, curious, lots of tea, fabulous bath!
Unusual but easy too.
We enjoyed Whitby but were delighted to get back to the hotel where we had a great nights sleep and really enjoyed the breakfast.
A little expensive for a night but worth it for the experience.
Fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a real treat. Completely different to your usual experience, the staff are great and the rooms are a real change from the norm. For a trip into wonderland, book here, only don't expect your usual hotel trappings: there was no toast and no cereal and no shower, but there was a massive bath and very fresh cheese scones. Give in to the experience! Recommended for anyone who wants to step into the world of Moulin Rouge and Alice in Wonderland.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at La Rosa and just wanted to say how wonderful a hotel this is. We stayed in the Stoker room (the clue is in the title to its theme) which has a balcony and view looking straight at the abbey. The room has ensuite with the biggest roll top bath ever. Decorated beautifully, no intrusive tv, but there is free wifi.

If you are looking for something totally different, quirky with an overwhelming Victorian feel, La Rosa is the place for you. You get a picnic breakfast brought to your room, you can have tea in the library and the staff are lovely, really friendly and just a great place to stay. We absolutely loved our stay, can't recommend La Rosa enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I had booked a 1night stay at another hotel but upon arrival was not to my taste. I had earlier passed 'La Rosa' and saw it had vacancies so booked for the night. From the moment you step inside it's magical! So many things to marvel at. Apparently all the rooms are themed and everything is sourced from flea markets, car boots etc. It's shabby chic Victorian style! I stayed in Little Red and although there isn't a sea view it doesn't matter. The room is Red Riding Hood themed complete with red velvet cape hung on the door! Luxurious 4poster bed with a huge ' wolf fur' throw and cushions. Lovely fluffy towels and en suite with shower.( some rooms have baths but I like a shower) Although the shower/toilet is small it wasn't really an issue other than a bit dark for getting made up! I unpacked and went down to the tea room to wait for my friends.Tea in china cups or fresh brewed coffee on tap while you look out to sea or at the many curios and weird and wonderful objects. In the morning as promised a picnic basket delivered to your door full of fresh wholesome food. (If you like fry ups this place isn't for you!) You don't have to check out until 12(bliss) and you can have breakfast at whatever time before that. I cannot describe how wonderful, unique and magical this place is...I intend to visit regularly and try the campsite as well. What a wonderful concept. Congratulations to the owners. I didn't get the name of the lady who booked me in, served me tea and I presume breakfast but she was lovely. Only 2 suggestions for this room which could make it a bit better. A mirror near the window as I struggled to see into any of the many various sized mirrors to do my makeup and hair, which were mostly in poor light (we ladies like to look our best you know) and a small chair to sit on. A truly remarkable and special place. An attraction in its own right. If you can't stay at least visit the tearoom!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubel30_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

From the moment we drove down the twisty farm track we knew we were about to have a special adventure. we parked in the farm yard and were met by our extremely welcoming host who had already lit the log burner to get the barn lovely and warm for our arrival as well as scattered lit tea lights around the barn.

We opened the stable door and were transported to a 1950's circus complete with a big top style canopy and circus curios with a draped romantic sleeping area with the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in!

The roll top bath is in the next door barn (about 4 fairy steps away from Swallow Barn) and is AMAZING!!! really really hot water and a unique experience having a bath in a barn, it was fantastic.

The composting loo will prove to be a talking point, it is next to the Bathroom in a separate part of the same barn. This loo (set out like a throne with steps up to the seating area) does take some getting used to however it is really clean and not as bad as you think. I had a nice sit down with the rear top stable door open watching the steam train pass at the bottom of the field while i had a tinkle, where else can you have that secluded uninterrupted view while going about your business!

At night you can see all the stars from the barn's upper windows and listen to the Owls hoot and read the fantastic circus books on the coffee table! It was so nice to be away from the 21st Century (with the exception of having electricity and an ipod dock on hand in the barn). The Barn has a charming atmosphere, peaceful and as if the Barn wants you to be there!

I would recommend this barn to anyone with a sense of adventure, who is looking for something very special that is out of the ordinary or for anyone looking to run away with the circus and would like a trial run first!

Swallow Barn is also getting its self a reputation as somewhat of an old romantic as we are not the only couple to get engaged within its walls!

Points to note;

You are staying in an old barn that has been wonderfully stuffed with circus curios, it's basic like camping indoors but with a super comfy and very warm bed, log burners and a great sofa.
It has a camping stove to cook on but there is a fridge.

The bath is heavenly do try it and the loo isn't as bad as you think!

Pay attention to the directions they give you, they are spot on, print them out and follow them!!!!!

Get an ordinance survey map too as satnav doesn't work and also there is cool stuff to see nearby like a Roman Road that are marked on the map.

The track down to Swallow Barn is bumpy so take it slow (and look out for animals), its not suitable for sports cars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriel-the-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa Campsite

Property: La Rosa Campsite
Address: 5 East Terrace | Murk Esk Cottage, Whitby YO22 5AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rosa Campsite is hidden in the picturesque Esk Valley situated in the North Yorkshire Moors National Parkland. The campsite offers 11 caravans, a gypsy caravan, barn and even a Witch's House all decorated splendiferously. Not quite glamping more like wild camping. There is no electricity in the caravans, leaving candle light and fires to light your way at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Rosa Hotel And Campsite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing