We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goth weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #13 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

just came back from whitby where we stayed at the seaview guesthouse for the 10th year.Brian is always waiting for us,we was welcomed with a pot of tea n mince pie.You can not pick any faults with it if u tried,everything is spotless,the owners Brian n Abby are wonderful its like being home from home,the rooms are fabulous n cosy.What else can i say its Absolutely Fabulous. love from Sonya and Ian Bannister xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SONYA550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 521 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Seaview for 2 nights.
Upon arriving we were greeted with the most delicous smell of parkin been baked.
We were checked in quickly and efficiently and offered a map of the area and told if we needed any help just to ask.
The room was spotless, bed was really comfy, fabulous pillows, it was lovely and warm with a lovely view of the sea and abbey. Even binocluars are supplied!
There was plenty of choice to make yourself a drink in the room to accompany the homemade parkin that was waiting for you a real treat, with the bonus of proper milk out of your fridge instead of those silly little milk pots.
I forgot my shampoo and wasn't disappointed as there were plenty of complimentary toiletries if you had forgotton anything.
Breakfast was fab and certainly filled you up for the day, cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt, plenty of hot breakfast choice, toast, tea, coffee.
If I were to visit Whitby again I would definetley stay here again.
I could imagine myself there on a summers evening with the window to the balcony open sipping wine whilst watching the sunset over the sea..................FAB!!

P.s. I am a light sleeper and this is the first hotel ever where I slept all night!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debtowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just came back from Whitby where me and my other half spent the goth weekend. We stayed at the Seaview and had one of the best times ever. Brian and Abby (owners) were the best host. It was if we were guest in their home the welcome we got.
Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bedrooms were very comfortable and warm.
The breakfast was excellent and FILLING. Abby served us while Brian was stuck in the kitchen but still made time to make sure everything was okay with all in the dining room.
All in all a brilliant weekend. We have booked already for the same weekend next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Brian and Abby are the perfect hosts. From the welcome to the good-bye, nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and are furnished to a high standard, with a small fridge and fresh milk for the complementary beverage tray. The rooms are spotlessly clean. Breakfast, well you will have to stay to find out just how good it is.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilnerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned home after a wonderful 3 night stay at seaview. The warmest welcome you will ever receive awaits you as you walk through the door. Brian and Abby are fantastic hosts, friendly and always cheery. The breakfast is fabulous! A large selection of cereals, fresh fruit, homemade jams as well a traditional full English. The dining room looks out over the harbour and has a unique attractive quirkiness to it. The whole house is spotlessly clean. We had a lovely view of the sea and part of the harbour from our room. The rooms are spacious, warm and decorated to a very high standard and have little touches that make it great. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, horlicks, homemade parkin, high taps in the en suite sink so you can actually fill your kettle up. All these things add up to make seaview the best place to stay in Whitby.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank trickster1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this guest house after reading all the reviews and were not at all dissappointed. We received a warm welcome from both Brian and Abby and our lovely room was both clean and comfortable with a superb view of the abbey, church and sea. The attention to detail was impeccable and the inclusion of such a wide selection of toilettries (even a handy pack of tissues) was fantastic and very much appreciated. Similarly, the drinks selection was vast, teas,coffees,hot chocolates,horlicks...phew!! Oh yes, I've not even mentioned the divine homemade parkin in the room everyday. Delicious breakfasts and again a great selection of fresh fruit, cereals, full English, omelettes...and homemade preserves. A fantastic place to stay with a lovely, welcoming couple. What are you waiting for?!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which had a fantastic view of the abbey, church and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serena205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What great guys. A warm welcome every time i visit this lovely house. Beautiful breakfast with a wide selection of named cereals, fresh fruit and home made jams. Im a veggie so Brian cooked me a hearty egg and mushroom omelette which was devine, while Abby's cheerful conversation in the morning made me smile. The rooms are stylish and immaculate. Nothing is to much trouble for these two lovely people, who have become great friends. Thank you both again x

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Front bedrooms have a sea view which is sort after in Whitby and back bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiatia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: 5 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing