We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do believe the hype !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #13 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this guest house after reading all the reviews and were not at all dissappointed. We received a warm welcome from both Brian and Abby and our lovely room was both clean and comfortable with a superb view of the abbey, church and sea. The attention to detail was impeccable and the inclusion of such a wide selection of toilettries (even a handy pack of tissues) was fantastic and very much appreciated. Similarly, the drinks selection was vast, teas,coffees,hot chocolates,horlicks...phew!! Oh yes, I've not even mentioned the divine homemade parkin in the room everyday. Delicious breakfasts and again a great selection of fresh fruit, cereals, full English, omelettes...and homemade preserves. A fantastic place to stay with a lovely, welcoming couple. What are you waiting for?!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which had a fantastic view of the abbey, church and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serena205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 521 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

What great guys. A warm welcome every time i visit this lovely house. Beautiful breakfast with a wide selection of named cereals, fresh fruit and home made jams. Im a veggie so Brian cooked me a hearty egg and mushroom omelette which was devine, while Abby's cheerful conversation in the morning made me smile. The rooms are stylish and immaculate. Nothing is to much trouble for these two lovely people, who have become great friends. Thank you both again x

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Front bedrooms have a sea view which is sort after in Whitby and back bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiatia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

stayed with my partner on a two night break on 29-30 oct arrived at around 2pm got into the room with no hastle. lovely room with a cracking sea view, room really warm, fridge in the room. breakfast was quality matched with quantity. hosts are two of the nicest people, who are there when you need them but not in your face.the rooms and the breakfast area is really clean. if you book here the lodgings part of your stay will be sorted.

Room Tip: stayed in room 3, where you can see the abbey and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewmatt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We choose this hotel from the reports on trip advisor and they were all the truth. Brian and Abby are fabulous hosts and compliment each other in their characters. They have built up a great collection of nic nacs most interesting and where some boast "shabby chic" this is certainly not shabby in fact it is immaculately clean throughout. We were in bedroom 6 and views were enhanced by the binoculars in the room. The choice of toiletries and drink far surpass many four star hotels we have stayed in together with fresh milk in the fridge and cake home made by Brian what more could anyone want. Breakfast was professionally served by Abby and cooked by Brian and was superb in fact I would go as far to say the best we have ever had, and after his cooking finished Brian joins the people in the breakfast room and the chat is great especially when everyone joins in as they did when we were there. No more to say other than we loved it, loved it, loved it Brian and Abby and will definitiely return. Jean and Ian (the tall lad)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONESTY573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Brian and Abby are friendly and professional hosts and we had a fantastic two-day stay here. Especially loved all Brian's home-made treats: the spicy Yorkshire parkin, his excellent marmalade, and the wicked lemon curd. Mm mmmm... We had a fantastic view of the sea and the Abbey, which looked incredible as the sun set. Stylishly decorated room, and a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Although regular visitors to Whitby, after many years we have discovered Seaview Guest House and have just returned from 3 nights there whilst attending Musicport Festival at the Pavilion. What a pleasant and relaxing experience! The whole place is very well maintained, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Crisp, white cotton sheets, feather pillows and generously sized towels all added to the feeling that great attention has been paid to detail throughout the guest house. The rooms are well-equipped and stocked with a generous hospitality tray including home made cake. The breakfasts are freshly prepared using the best quality ingredients and condiments. My husband tried the full english breakfast and the whitby kippers which he thoroughly enjoyed, whilst I'm an awkward vegan customer! I felt truly welcomed at Seaview and my tastes were well-catered for (including homemade lime & lemonade, poached blueberries, tropical fruits and homemade preserves). Seaview is decorated in Art Deco style adding to the spirit and ambience of the place - again one gets the impression that this place has been consistently cherished and treasured by the hosts. On arrival we were given the choice of two rooms and decided to opt for room 6, smaller than room 4, although offering a fantastic view of the sea, harbour walls and abbey. Overall, we had a great time at Seaview and were made to feel very welcome by hosts Brian and Abby. We will definitely be visiting again and cant recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Ask Brian for your preferences - he will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Brian and Abby are first class hosts of this wonderful B&B close to the centre of Whitby. They are meticulous, knowledgeable and very welcoming. We loved the breakfasts - including this great kippers - and the homemade lemon curd and preserves.

We stayed in Room 7 which has a fantastic view of the sea, the town and the Abbey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: 5 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing