We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage Siting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage
Siting room
Sitting room
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Master bedroom, first floor
Master bedroom, first floor
Double bedroom, top floor
Top floor double bedroom
Twin bedroom, top floor
Top floor shower room
Top floor galleried landing
Galleried landing, top floor
Top floor galleried landing
View from the rear of the cottage
View from the rear of the cottage
Top floor landing window
Top floor landing window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debward19
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay in Whitby! The cottage itself was lovely with wonderful views of the Abbey and the harbour. The garden area was gorgeous and I especially enjoyed watching the butterflies while relaxing to the sound of the church bells! The cottage itself had everything needed to make you feel at home and the photos don't do it justice. The proximity to everything is also a welcome bonus with the footpath from the property leading straight to the harbour. We will definitely book here again and thoroughly recommend it to anybody considering visiting Whitby

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We try our best to make the cottage a place to enjoy, so it is lovely when people take the trouble to review it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and accurate review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
soulsiste...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cottage we have ever stayed in .”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at September cottage for one week in July , It's home from home spotlessly clean, from the perfect decor to the period furniture, It has everything you need and more even a pair of binoculars for your use , loved looking at all the old picture 's on the wall also loved the portholes in the wall . The attention to detail is a Credit to the owners.It's very difficult to say what I like best about the cottage I just loved it all , the large master bed room is very grand with its four poster bed , it's big original old fire place, its own bathroom it's even got a sofa and two rocking chairs I felt like the queen sleeping in such a lovely bedroom . We loved sitting up in the snug and in the attic looking out at the fantastic views we spent every night up there.There are lovely views from the kitchen too ,and out side there are two seating areas , the owners provide you with a parking permit for the week in a near by car park which is a bonus . The cottage is in the perfect location right in the centre of Whitby just a few minutes away from many lovely restaurants pubs and shops . It was very sad leaving this lovely cottage when it was time to go home , we have book it again for next year and can't wait to come back .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
That's great to hear - so pleased that you loved the cottage. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back next July. You are 5 star guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlabamaEn...
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage within walking distance to harbor with lovely views.”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I couldn't ask for a more convenient location for our stay in Whitby. Close to the harbor, beach and shops. There is a pound stretcher at the end of the street and more shops just beyond. The cottage is updated yet still retains it's character charm. I loved all the vintage photos of old Whitby in the stairway. No parking on the street outside but we were provided a parking pass. Everything is so close no need to drive, so park your car and enjoy your stay. We will be back on our next visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
That's great. Thank you very much for your kind words. You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
166Peter...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cottage and great location”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Cant beat the location with stunning views over Whitby. Parking nearby wasn't a problem and the layout of the cottage was perfect for us with a suite of rooms including bathroom on the top floor just right for a family. Only downside is the small lounge which you cant do much about and the properties opposite on Cliffe Street which are making the overall setting a bit unkempt. Otherwise have stayed here twice now and will stay again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thank you for your review; we are very pleased that you plan to stay again in the future.

The lounge is small but we hope that the other seating - in the snug, in the master bedroom and on the upper landing compensate for that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DnNLeeds
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed for 4 nights with our children aged 6 and 4. Beautiful, spacious, well equipped cottage, perfect location on Cliff street which is a quiet street only one street back from the busy harbourside street with all the action/restaurants (steep <1 minute walk). Stunning views from all levels across to the abbey - I particularly loved watching from the snug. Loads to do - beach, abbey, steam train. The 2 patio garden areas were perfect sun spots, accessed by a side door into an alley. You can drop off outside the cottage, and owners provide a parking permit for car park 5 minutes walk away which was fine. Might have noticed not having a dishwasher and dryer if we had stayed for a whole week, but for a shorter stay this was fine. Overall fabulous, we hope to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you very much for your super review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and will be happy to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan H
Simonstone
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Splendid cottage with a touch of class”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Must say this accommodation feels like a really authentic fisherman's cottage. The decor at first might appear simple but once one takes a good luck you notice a touch of class about the layout. It is clearly designed with an attention to detail with lots of nice touches both in the living areas and the outside spaces. The appliances are all top brands as is the crockery and utensils. The cottage has superb view over towards the Abbey and surroundings. We were fortunate to stay over a sun filled weekend so we took advantage of the views from the kitchen/diner and the 'gallery' room on the second floor.
It is a minute to the quayside via the ginnel adjacent to the cottage, where you have access to Harry's lounge, the Magpie etc.
I feel the promotional photographs although very good don't do the cottage justice it is really that good. We stay in over half a dozen cottages a year and this really stands out.
We will be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I doubt that I could have praised the cottage more myself!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing