We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travelers have booked this property
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage Siting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage
Siting room
Sitting room
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Master bedroom, first floor
Master bedroom, first floor
Double bedroom, top floor
Top floor double bedroom
Twin bedroom, top floor
Top floor shower room
Top floor galleried landing
Galleried landing, top floor
Top floor galleried landing
View from the rear of the cottage
View from the rear of the cottage
Top floor landing window
Top floor landing window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DnNLeeds
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed for 4 nights with our children aged 6 and 4. Beautiful, spacious, well equipped cottage, perfect location on Cliff street which is a quiet street only one street back from the busy harbourside street with all the action/restaurants (steep <1 minute walk). Stunning views from all levels across to the abbey - I particularly loved watching from the snug. Loads to do - beach, abbey, steam train. The 2 patio garden areas were perfect sun spots, accessed by a side door into an alley. You can drop off outside the cottage, and owners provide a parking permit for car park 5 minutes walk away which was fine. Might have noticed not having a dishwasher and dryer if we had stayed for a whole week, but for a shorter stay this was fine. Overall fabulous, we hope to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you very much for your super review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and will be happy to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan H
Simonstone
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Splendid cottage with a touch of class”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Must say this accommodation feels like a really authentic fisherman's cottage. The decor at first might appear simple but once one takes a good luck you notice a touch of class about the layout. It is clearly designed with an attention to detail with lots of nice touches both in the living areas and the outside spaces. The appliances are all top brands as is the crockery and utensils. The cottage has superb view over towards the Abbey and surroundings. We were fortunate to stay over a sun filled weekend so we took advantage of the views from the kitchen/diner and the 'gallery' room on the second floor.
It is a minute to the quayside via the ginnel adjacent to the cottage, where you have access to Harry's lounge, the Magpie etc.
I feel the promotional photographs although very good don't do the cottage justice it is really that good. We stay in over half a dozen cottages a year and this really stands out.
We will be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I doubt that I could have praised the cottage more myself!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our cottage. The lounge is small but we hope that the seating on the galleried landing, in the snug and in the four-poster bedroom make up for that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the centre of Whitby with great views!”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at September Cottage for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very clean and all the essentials were provided. We have good communication from the owners before hand and there is a helpful instruction folder in the cottage. The cottage is in the centre of Whitby with the shops a couple of minutes walk away. The parking permits meant we could park within a 5 minute walk of the cottage. The views from the first and second floor snugs/sitting areas were great and we would definately stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Thank you for your very well-written review. We do appreciate people taking the time and trouble to comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevetoon...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful short break over the New Year at September Cottage, it is in a great location and the cottage itself is excellent. With wonderful views over to the Abbey and sea. Only problem is with views like that it is hard to move yourself. All five of us who stayed there all said we would stay at September Cottage again. It was great.
Thank you
Steve, June, Brian, Violet and Barbara

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed our cottage. The view is especially good in Winter when the trees are bare.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaosha
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage Outstanding Views”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The first thing that you notice when you arrive are the stunning views from the kitchen window overlooking the Abbey, church and harbour. The view does not disappoint as you go upstairs, it just gets better!
The cottage is beautifully done out with enough space for 6 people to sleep as well as stay in the cottage. We rented the cottage over Christmas and with its location perfect for views as well as being able to access everywhere I will without a doubt be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
Thank you so much for your super review. It was nice to bump into you all; you were a very happy bunch!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie j
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“never want to leave”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lynne and family have been the best. We booked well in advance after checking it out on Trip Advisor, so pleased we chose this cottage. Set in middle of town, just off Flowergate, easy walking to everywhere. Set on three floors with 3 bedrooms, all double and two bathrooms, the style is quaint but comfortable, which is the style of the cottage. Very well cared for. The bedroom on first floor has three poster bed, en suite bathroom with good shower. Plus a small snug with views overlooking the town Second floor has two double bedrooms and bathroom, with views over the town from the to of the stairs. Everything is provided down to games and books, in case of rainy days. Plus the parking permits is great idea as parking is not easy in Whitby as still in October a very popular place to stay. Very good Wi-Fi ,tv mobile reception, .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate your kind words. I wish that I could hope for a speedy return visit, but you do live rather a long way away to become a regular!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing