We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage Siting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage
Siting room
Sitting room
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Master bedroom, first floor
Master bedroom, first floor
Double bedroom, top floor
Top floor double bedroom
Twin bedroom, top floor
Top floor shower room
Top floor galleried landing
Galleried landing, top floor
Top floor galleried landing
View from the rear of the cottage
View from the rear of the cottage
Top floor landing window
Top floor landing window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fi_stuart
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We just left the cottage and I am totally bereft! It was lovely. Comfy beds, sparkly clean, snuggly bedding, fabulous period furniture.
There were just three of us, a couple in mid end suite and me commanding the attic.
The attic seating is amazing, we all sat drinking prosecco watching the storms, warm and comfy.
When it wasnt snowing/raining we sat in the lovely gardens, which are particularly useful for drying laundry.
Love this house, i cannot think of one thing wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words and enthusiasm! You are very welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a great stay at September Cottage! Superb views of Whitby harbour from all the windows at the back of the cottage which we could sit and enjoy from every floor. The cottage itself was perfectly situated with a short walk to the shops (no need to use the car, which was great!) and the layout of the cottage allowed us to spread out and relax. Everything has been thought of and the owners have gone out of their way to make sure everyone who stays here has a lovely, home-from-home experience. We will definitely be booking this cottage again for next year. Many thanks. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you appreciated all that the cottage has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi J
Colne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful :)”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned after a 4 nights stay here and what an amazing place this is. It was beautifully decorated,comfortable and very homely. My girls loved the snug at the top of the house. Will definitely be booking again x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourselves despite the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous cottage in the middle of Whitby”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We wanted a comfortable base for the family within walking distance of all that Whitby has to offer and September Cottage delivered in spades. It's the little things: a parking permit for us and a scratch card for my parents took the hassle of Whitby parking out of the equation, whilst wifi prevented the teenage whingeing of our children. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable, especially the master, which was huge. The kitchen was small but well equipped and offered great views over to St Mary's church and the abbey. The lack of a dishwasher also allowed us to introduce our teenage son to the joys of hand washing dishes ;-). The lounge was small and reminiscent of a doctor's waiting room, but made the most of the available space. I absolutely adored the snug on the first floor, which also had great views over the harbour; I spent many hours reading and listening to music sat up there out of the way. I would genuinely recommend this property to friends and family and hope to return sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We agree that the lounge is small; we hope to replace the large sofa at some point, so that the room can be arranged differently.

A lot of our 'regulars' enjoy using the alternative seating areas, especially the snug and the gallery landing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
Krakow am See, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay to visit the area”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a fantastic place to stay. The cottage was homely, clean and equipped with everything you could ask for. It was really convenient for pubs and restaurants in the town. The views of Whitby and the abbey were amazing from the rear of the cottage. A car parking permit was available for a nearby carpark which was essential if visiting with your car. Cannot speak highly enough of this accommodation and hope to stay here in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the property
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. We try very hard to make the cottage as welcoming as possible so it is lovely when it is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantstic stay”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third time at the Cottage. Just as good as ever now with the added bonus of BT TV and Sport and access to the NetFlix service so we could use our NetFlix account - briliant even when the weather wasnt good. Will be returning again in February. Cant wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The cold weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2016
Thank you so much for posting your review. We really appreciate it. Glad you liked the new TV system.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing