We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #44 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Excellent accommodation and good food. Add to that the warm welcome from Gill and Martin and you have a great choice for a break in Whitby.
Other plus points; walking distance to town centre and private car park.
We'll certainly be back.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank HD6Brighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
168
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Launceston Villa for 4 nights bed and breakfast in August 2007.

We were given a warm welcome from hosts Gill and Martin.

The room was very clean and modern with plenty of hanging and drawer space.

The breakfast was good and plenty of it!

Gill and Martin went out of their way to provide a good choice of breakfast

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — size of the shower room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2007

A wonderful weekend as a couple. Thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality offered by Gill and Martin Prescott at this ideally suited bed and breakfast. Friendly and extremely welcoming but allowing a relaxed stay with advice at hand if required. High standard of facilities and beautiful decor with many nice touches. Fabulous breakfast which certainly set us up for the day ahead. Located 10 minutes walk from the town centre, with a route via Whitby gardens if desired. Launceston Villa has it's own car park which is most useful, and a preferable alternative to town centre parking. Plenty to do in Whitby itself for a weekend, welcoming fishing town with superb seaside atmosphere. Many places of interest in the surrounding area for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We (a family of four) stayed here recently and were very impressed by the level of service and thoughtfulness of the Villa House operation.

No strangers to the area we found the B&B easily and were made quickly welcome and shown to our neat, modern and immaculate rooms. Again thoughtfully moved to be both on the same floor. Tea and coffee making faciilties and a DVD players were in both rooms, and these were regularly replenished, as were towels etc.

Overall this place was the perfect stress-free relaxing base for our trip. I am not veryw ell-travelled, and always cautious of superlatives, but this was the best B&B I have stayed in. Highly recommended.

[--]

  • Liked — the thoughtfulness - all cleaned and taken care of
  • Disliked — the steps but no real obstacle...
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank captaincookYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#18 of 151 in Whitby
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#48 of 151 in Whitby
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#35 of 151 in Whitby
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elford Guest House
Elford Guest House
#49 of 151 in Whitby
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Edwardian home ample parking excellent breakfast close to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed Breakfast Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing