We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy & clean at the Elford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elford Guest House
Ranked #46 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy & clean at the Elford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

Was greeted warmly by Linda, the owner, who showed us to a beautiful room at the top of the house - room 6. It was very spacious, clean & bright. There was a lovely view of the Abbey from our window and there was plenty of sunlight coming through.

There were plenty of tea/coffee making facilities and cereals for breakfast. Fresh milk & orange juice were brought to our door each morning.

Although the guest house was fully booked we didn't see or hear much of the other guests - which made a nice change.

The walk into the centre of Whitby took about 5-10 minutes - downhill!! The hill on the same side as the guest house is quite steep so perhaps wouldn't suit anyone with mobility problems - the the path across the road was more manageable.

It was our first visit to Whitby and I can certainly say that it wont be our last - it's a lovely place. There's not too much to do and see but it's just a lovely place to relax.

The accommodation was excellent value for money I can recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    52
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
202
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

We have been before to this B&B but we are always impressed with the excellent accommodation and relaxed atmosphere of Elford house. Get up when you feel like it, no rushing down to breakfast, just sit back and please yourself. This is a place we will return to year after year.

  • Liked — You don't have to get up for breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsMalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

We were impressed with the friendly welcome offered by Linda and Ged, but also the fact that we were free to come and go as we liked. Unlike some more stuffy, traditional b and bs there was no need to be up at 6am to eat a shrivelled up, over-cooked 'traditional' breakfast. Instead, we could have breakfast in our room at our own leisure, with fresh milk and oj outside out door each morning. Great idea, whether you want to be up and out early or lounge in bed for half the day!

The rooms were beautifully decorated with very good en-suite facilities. We would definitely recommend the guest house and visit again!

  • Liked — you felt as though you were in your own home, not a guest
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flightyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

Just stayed at Elford Guest house over the bank holiday weekend. It was the first time we'd been to Whitby. The b and B was spacious, traditional and in an ideal location within walking distance of Whitby cente. I would definately recommend it to anyone. Just wished i had longer to explore.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank billiebob20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

just returned from a lovely weekend in whitby stayed at a lovely b&b elmford house which is a big old house full of original character and charm, we stayed in a spacious en-suite room with polished floorboards. it was very clean warm and comfortable. breakfast was continental style served in your room which also had its own dinning table which was another nice touch. the room also had a hospitality tray and tv/dvd. and it was only a short 5 minute walk into whitby.

  • Liked — old character and charm
  • Disliked — breakfast . some crusty rolls, butter and jam would have gone down a treat
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2caoimhe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

Booked a last minute break in Whitby and decided on the Elford Guest House. The accomodation is a lovely large old house. The room was very large and spacious, well decorated and furnished and very clean. Breakfast consists of cereal and juice delivered to your room. There was also tea and cofee available in the room. There was ample parking and the property is located within easy walking distance of the town/harbour etc. We thought that the accomodation was excellent and provided great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Psycho8a88le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Florence Guest House
Florence Guest House
#63 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#62 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#25 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overdale Guest House
Overdale Guest House
#29 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elford Guest House

Property: Elford Guest House
Address: 10 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have availability throughout the year. To make sure you are not paying inflated booking prices please ring or e-mail for our exclusive deals. What makes Elford House different to other Guest Houses is that we deliver a continental breakfast to your door, so no getting up too early. We offer double en-suite accommodation, FREE WiFi and GUARENTEED OFF ROAD PARKING, a huge bonus in Whitby. We do not have facilities for children and do not accept large parties or pets and for the comfort of all our guests Elford House operates a strict non smoking policy. Once again please ring or e-mail for availability. Thank you, Linda and Ged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Elford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing