We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always!”
Review of Elford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elford Guest House
Ranked #48 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley,West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is Millionth trip to Elford House,,,,,,,and as always it was fab!!....
The room was Gorgeous and it's such a lovely peaceful relaxing house,we wouldn't go any where else!!!
Highly recommended!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyPixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    54
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
206
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Good location for town and free parking on site.
Novel arrangement of "breakfast basket" delivered at the bedroom door at 8.00, which was excellent (hot rolls, good selection of cereals, yoghurts, etc).
Large airy rooms in spotless house full of character.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kermiteastanglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The guest house is situated within walking distance of the harbour in Whitby, therefore even for people who do not walk far this is a location where the car can be parked off road and safe. The car parking is also being enlarged.
The room was large, clean and light, the continental breakfast (served in our room ) was of good standard with a variety which suited us well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrambleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gliderbloke
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2009

after reading the reviews i chose elford house. i was not disapointed, a warm welcome, an excellent quality room and spotlessly clean en suite, in this lovely victorian house. with a good breakfast delivered to your door, and good off road parking and good friendly service, i would recomend elford house to anyone. DG. northants.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gliderbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Just had the pleasure of a 3 night stay at this accomodation (Friday to Monday) As most of the other reveiws say this place is lovely, its a great building in a nice area - about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Whitby, down a steep hill going, up hill coming back which is handy as it makes you feel less guilty about the naughty seaside treats youve just eaten !!

Our room was up on the top attic floor, it was extremely clean & very spacious, nice comfy bed & a nice clean, bright (small) bathroom with a good shower. We had a lovely view of the abbey from our room.

The continental breakfast in bed is a great idea, we are not that fussed about a cooked breakfasts anyhow & find it can be a pain having to get up & down to a dining room early so this suited us perfectly. The breakfast fairy comes about 8am & leaves it in a basket outside your door. You get cerials, fresh bread, butter, cream cheese, Jam / Marmalade, yogurts (or similar) fruit, orange juice & milk. All the bowls / plates / cutlery etc are already in your room. If you want the room servicing someone will come in & make beds & change all the pots etc, if you dont want to be distrurbed you just put the pots & stuff outside the room & you are left clean ones.

Ged & Linda who run the place are really nice people, it has a very freindly, relaxed atmosphere

We made a really good choice staying at this place & when we go back to Whitby it will be our first choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil-miss-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Checked out Elgin House B&B on Trip Advisor. Decided to go for a couple of nights. What a lovely house. It's the cleanest place we have stayed in - EVER. We were greeted by Linda on our arrival and she couldn't have been more helpful. We had the room with a great view of the Abbey.

The continental breakfast was very good. We got so much we saved the bread and cheese for our supper. Also plenty tea and coffee in the room.

We would go back here anytime.

Thank you, Ged and Linda, for a lovely week-end.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieO070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This guest house is pretty close to the town centre, appx 10 min walk, the walk back is all uphill so watch out, especially if you have got loads of shopping !

The rooms were very clean and a nice size, however the mattress was one of the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on, and this was not helped by the rock hard pillows.
The bathroom towels were clean but did smell of must. (After being washed they may have been left to dry folded)

We had the luxury of a room with a balcony, however I was spoken to like a child by the female owner as I was having a relaxing cigar. I was rudely shouted to from the car park as the owners arrived back from shopping. "I would prefer you not to smoke on the balcony" - even though the balcony is outside !

As usual we have had a great time in Whitby made even better by the great weather.

You must also try the Ditto restaurant (Skinner Street)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Florence Guest House
Florence Guest House
#73 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#28 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#59 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#9 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elford Guest House

Property: Elford Guest House
Address: 10 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have availability throughout the year. To make sure you are not paying inflated booking prices please ring or e-mail for our exclusive deals. What makes Elford House different to other Guest Houses is that we deliver a continental breakfast to your door, so no getting up too early. We offer double en-suite accommodation, FREE WiFi and GUARENTEED OFF ROAD PARKING, a huge bonus in Whitby. We do not have facilities for children and do not accept large parties or pets and for the comfort of all our guests Elford House operates a strict non smoking policy. Once again please ring or e-mail for availability. Thank you, Linda and Ged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing