We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation, very friendly hosts...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Doves Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
petlovers...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, very friendly hosts: great location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent an enjoyable three nights at Doves Haven, had everything we needed. Great location for visiting North Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise W
2 reviews
“Lovely little cottage!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a one night stay, it was a last minute night away and we were lucky enough to get one night in Doves Haven cottage. It was perfect for what we needed. The cottage was comfortable (lovely beds) and had everything you would need. The grounds and playground were perfect for my young children. I would have loved tostay longer and we will definitely return but for more nights next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwilko1
Wednesbury
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for dogs who take their owners with them.”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had an enjoyable stay at Doves Haven with the wife, son, sister inn law and dog.
On arrival found the keys in the door waiting for us.
I'd booked the cottage because the two bedrooms were en suite, there were warnings about the low headroom in the property description on Trip Advisor, but I opted to ignore this. Unfortunately I am 6' 4", so next time maybe a different cottage :-)
There are 6 cottages, so ideal if you have a large family who want to holiday together and there is also a field for tents and camper vans for the more adventurous.
We had a couple of problems over the week - the boiler pressure had dropped and the door had swollen making it hard to open - both of which were dealt with promptly and without complaint by Laurie.
Situated a 2 minute drive from Whitby with a Sainsburys at the bottom of the street and a woods a 2 minute walk away, it's ideally situated for exploring. Also a bus stop for getting to Whitby, Scarborough, Middlesborough and anywhere inbetween.
The cottage is well equipped, although it needs a hard brush or hoover if you have a particularly hairy dog (like we do) as the soft brush only just did it's job.
Pool table and football table in the games room, each cottage has it's own bench outside, owners let their dogs walk around, plus chickens, ducks and seagulls, also rabbits and moles, plenty of wildlife around - if you're lucky you'll get to see deer.
The only let disappointment was that the cottages are next door to a water treatment place, which can have a bit of a smell and the sofas and chairs in Doves Haven need a bit of a clean. The latter is easily sorted but not the former.
My labrador Dexter had fun making new friends, especially with Daisy the Staffie.
Overall a decent place, well situated for exploring the region.
I'd stop again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Smell from Water Treatment Plant next door.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillybobs...
Healing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage very close to Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Doves Haven cottage with our daughter and grandchild. The location is perfect, just minutes away from the beaches at Whitby and Sandsend.
The cottage was more than adequate for our needs and was equipped with TV, DVD, washing machine and of course a kitchen area. The bedrooms both had ensuite bathrooms which were adequate for our needs. The cottage has plenty of character and the owners were very friendly. Sainsburys supermarket is conveniently situated very close by so if you have a car full, it would be easy to get the food shopping when you arrived.
There is a children's play area and a games room on the site which was a nice touch.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireDai...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay and great value for money”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here one night. It was lovely. I booked it because of the playground and my son loved it. Bedrooms are quite tight but it's a renovated barn so I expected that. Everything you need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, well equipped, no worry about parking car, the dog enjoyed his stay too!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay, this time in a different cottage. Liked this cottage as much as the first. Cottages are clean, comfortable, well equipped. No concerns over parking, left the car and enjoyed a walk into Whitby centre, however, if you wish to take car into Whitby arrive early, carparks soon get full! Owners of cottage are there if needed but not at all obtrusive, which we like. Will visit again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezzy139
tamworth
2 reviews
“nice”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent the week at Doves Haven the place was nice and clean great place for walking the dog over the fields and walking the cinder trail. Sainsburys was over the road and a great bakery over the road also. Halloween night the owners of the property came around each property with a carved pumpkin to display in our window which I thought was a nice thing to do. We had a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good base for traveling the area
Liked least: hight of shower
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for looking after Doves Haven during your stay. Hope you will book again in the near future. Regards, everyone here at Broomfields Farm Holiday Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing