We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage very close to Whitby and Robin...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Doves Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillybobs...
Healing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage very close to Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Doves Haven cottage with our daughter and grandchild. The location is perfect, just minutes away from the beaches at Whitby and Sandsend.
The cottage was more than adequate for our needs and was equipped with TV, DVD, washing machine and of course a kitchen area. The bedrooms both had ensuite bathrooms which were adequate for our needs. The cottage has plenty of character and the owners were very friendly. Sainsburys supermarket is conveniently situated very close by so if you have a car full, it would be easy to get the food shopping when you arrived.
There is a children's play area and a games room on the site which was a nice touch.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireDai...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay and great value for money”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here one night. It was lovely. I booked it because of the playground and my son loved it. Bedrooms are quite tight but it's a renovated barn so I expected that. Everything you need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, well equipped, no worry about parking car, the dog enjoyed his stay too!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay, this time in a different cottage. Liked this cottage as much as the first. Cottages are clean, comfortable, well equipped. No concerns over parking, left the car and enjoyed a walk into Whitby centre, however, if you wish to take car into Whitby arrive early, carparks soon get full! Owners of cottage are there if needed but not at all obtrusive, which we like. Will visit again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezzy139
tamworth
2 reviews
“nice”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent the week at Doves Haven the place was nice and clean great place for walking the dog over the fields and walking the cinder trail. Sainsburys was over the road and a great bakery over the road also. Halloween night the owners of the property came around each property with a carved pumpkin to display in our window which I thought was a nice thing to do. We had a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good base for traveling the area
Liked least: hight of shower
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for looking after Doves Haven during your stay. Hope you will book again in the near future. Regards, everyone here at Broomfields Farm Holiday Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent location, clean & cosy cottage!”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent one night here with my boyfriend. The bloke who welcomed us was very friendly. Had our coattage ready early so we could go straight in. Cottage was very clean and cosy. Everything you needed was already there. Eould definitely recommend and would like to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your one night stay at Doves Haven. Also glad you found the cottage clean and well equipped. Many thanks for putting pen to paper with all your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again at some time in the future. With kind regards, the Farmer family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairerbo...
1 review
“Excellent location, lovely and cosy.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here as a family of 4 adults for one night and we can't compliment this lovely place enough.

It was clean, cosy and the surroundings are beautiful.

The rate was very reasonable and it was great that one night stays are available.

It's in a great location too.

We will be back again.

Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Thank you. We're very happy that you enjoyed your one night stay here. One night stays are something we have recently started doing and it really appeals to a lot of guests so we'll be continuing to do that. We hope yo see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewSmi...
1 review
“A fantastic location and great for children”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A quite relaxing location close to Whitby. We had a fantastic few days break and our five year old loved the playground and games room. The owners were helpful and friendly and the eggs they sell are delicious! The accommodation had everything we required.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Doves Haven. We're glad you made full use of the facilities here and your children enjoyed the playground and games room. If your ever visiting Whitby again, we're love to hear from you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing