We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; lovely views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #32 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brewood, staffs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location; lovely views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break and are very keen to revisit. We stayed in the attic room which was very spacious and spotlessly clean with a great en suite. (Quite a few steps to get there though this did not bother us but may be a consideration for the less able). Nice touches include the bar stools and binoculars. The mini fridge was also welcome. Bed was huge and comfy. Great location less than 5 minutes walk into the town centre. Hosts were very friendly and informative. Breakfast was superb and delivered to your room. We thought this was great; just like being at home.

Room Tip: limited parking but plenty available, no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna and paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
225
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant value for money in a great location. Service and friendliness of the owners is second to none.

All rooms of a similar layout, but differing themes. Room with a view was a term invented for this hotel. We have stayed in hotels charging three times the rates that the New Anchorage do but with less service and charm.

Historically we have visited Whitby on day trips but the location of the hotel allowed us to explore so much more of the town.

Only slight negatives were music blaring for a nearby bar late into the night and no communal bar (guess the latter keeps the price down) but overall, a complete bargain and makes up for our last trip to the area and a terrible stay in the Ox Pasture.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iainricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. One of the owners carried one of our bags to the room. The room was very spacious and interestingly furnished and decorated. We enjoyed wonderful views of the harbour entrance and directly out to sea. Myself and my wife enjoyed the large and comfortable bed in a warm and quiet room for 2 nights. Breakfast was served in our room (on time) and it was an excellent start to the day. The room had a very spacious bathroom with a separate shower. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The room had a hair dryer and a safe in the wardrobe as well as a large wall mounted TV, a fridge with bottled water, wine glasses and a cork screw. as well as the usual tea and coffee making facilities (with good quality biscuits). The attention to detail was amazing. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night at the very end of September.
The Anchorage enjoys a great location with amazing views out over the sea.
Everything was spotlessly clean and the four poster bed was do comfy I wished we could take it home !
Icing on the cake was breakfast delivered right to your bedroom.
Would recommend to anyone and only wish our stay had been longer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked the new anchorage to stay at when we recently visited Whitby. This proved to be a great success. The owners were very helpful. Helping with luggage as I was on my own with it all, as my husband was looking for a parking space as there are none especially for the hotel, which didn't prove a problem as a lot of people were day travellers, so by the evening there was plenty of parking spaces nearby. We were in room 7 which faced the back of the hotel. A very large well presented room, with all the amenities needed, and very quiet. I thought the breakfast situation a bit strange when I heard it was delivered to your room, but in fact this proved very nice, as you didn't need to get showered and dressed to go down, you could just take your time and be quiet, and then get sorted to go out. I decided that I wanted to stay another night but unfortunately the hotel could not accommodate us as they were very busy and fully booked, but the owners son sorted us out with another hotel nearby to stay for our final night. We would definitely return to the anchorage if we visit Whitby again. Fantastic hospitality by all. Perfect B and B . Room 7 is up 6 flights of stairs. You will be fitter on your departure than on your arrival. !!!!!!!! Did not envy the breakfast run :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank village1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

we stayed in the French room for 2 nights and 1 night in the gothic room.21st -23rd Sept. we found the rooms very clean and spacious . Ideally situated for the town centre . the views from these rooms are great , overlooking the sea. The breakfast was very good , which is brought to the room for you, which is nice as you can eat it while looking out at the sea view. tea and coffee making facilities are replenished every day and there is plentiful supply . mike and deb are very friendly and certainly know how to look after their guests. Whitby has something for every one and plenty to see and do. we found that Whitby is very well kept and clean ,great short break and we will certainly be returning next year.PS it is Gothic weekend in October and the gothic room would be a great base for your visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick504160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First time we have stayed here, I booked it based on photos of the rooms and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 2 (The French room) this is a huge room which has the benefit of a bay window overlooking the sea with comfy chairs and a sofa.....BRILLIANT!! The decor and furnishings have been beautifully and thoughtfully carried out. The "French" theme has been continued in the ensuite bathroom which has both a large walk-in shower, a lovely roll top bath and seaview!! On arrival we were met by the owners son who was extremely friendly and helpfully explained about ordering breakfast which is served in your room (another reason we had chosen this hotel). Breakfast was excellent and we loved the "room service".
During our three night stay we were impressed by the high standards and the care taken to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. The owners have taken the trouble to make sure everything you could possibly need is available in your room (mini fridge, corkscrew, hairdryer and even an iron).
The owners returned during our stay and were keen to know if their son had "looked after" us! Mick was happy to chat about the hotel and the renovations/decoration they had undertaken.....our room was stunning and I suspect all the other rooms are equally well presented.
We will be returning to the New Anchorage and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a seaview which is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.0 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandbeck
The Sandbeck
#39 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Anchorage Hotel

Property: New Anchorage Hotel
Address: 3 Crescent Terrace | West Cliffe, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your New Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing