We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 breakfast in Whitby ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Inn Whitby
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great product , fair price, clear plates. Full English for under £4 . And overlooking the harbour too. If you are in town and looking for breakfast this is the place to go. Served till 12, plenty of room for families too. And a an extra bonus sky tv to keep up with footy. The beer and evening menu looks inviting also 80 %

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank The3rdEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 463 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just got back from a great couple of days in Whitby. We stayed here at the Pier Inn and had a fantastic time. Everyone, managers and staff were really friendly and nothing was a problem for them.
Rooms aren't the biggest we've stayed it but have everything you need. They were clean and tidy and the brand new bathroom that had been installed in the room was great.

The room ( think all rooms the same) had a view out over the harbour and across to the Abbey. All the food we had there was really nice and good portions plus at breakfast we were asked what we would like rather than just a big fry-up put in front of you.

There was a band on Friday night which were really good and attracted a friendly crowd of locals and tourists into the bar. Great night had by all.

Gwen & Mel

Room Tip: All rooms have a view out ove the harbour. The higher the room in the hotel the more stairs you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farscape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

stayed at pier inn ,the room was lovely with great views.food fantastic,staff really friendly and helpfull.will definitly go back again.thanks to all the staff ,see you soon
carol and ian wild from sheffield

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Good breakfast nice owners just needs attention to cleaning the windows hadnt been cleaned for months a few dead insects on the windowsill. The carpets were also stained the young couple work hard and im sure once they fix the cleaning it will be a good place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollybad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The view from our room was like a postcard view of the fishing port with the dramatic ruins of the Abbey across the bay,we sat up and watched the boats going and coming.. Everyone was very friendly and helpful,good breakfast,we really enjoyed our two night stay.This hotel is an historic pub,although we did not find it noisy and we could have a nightcap drink on our way upstairs .The stairs were a bit of a challenge but the stunning view was worth the effort.There is no parking as such and we parked a little distance away but did not need the car throughout our stay as everything is in walking distance. This hotel is several hundred years old and it is situated directly across from the busy fishing boats and fish dock.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely little hotel and bar. Extremely friendly staff. Beds and shower/WC perhaps a little on the small side, but the view from the room was gorgeous. Very welcoming and a great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we have just come back from our one night stay on our wedding anniversary.Called in on spec and fell in love with room 7.It overlooked the quay and was so cosy.The breakfast was enormous even after 3 pints of Black Mass the night before there.The staff are extremely friendly and obliging.A proper love nest!

Room Tip: room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KLN050987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Inn Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Inn Whitby

Address: 4-6 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour, The Pier Inn in Whitby enjoys a seafront location and offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. This traditional pub and restaurant is just 4 minutes' walk from the town centre, less than 2 miles from the North York Moors. Rooms at The Pier Inn have a flat-screen TV, wardrobe and tea and coffee facilities. All have en suite facilities with a shower. A full English breakfast is served each morning. Food is served in the pub at lunchtimes and in the evening. This inn is around 13 minutes' drive from the pretty fishing village of Robin Hood's Bay. The Whitby Museum, Pannett Park and the Captain Cook Memorial Museum are all within 10 minutes' walk. Please note, the rooms are above the pub, and as the Pier Inn is a listed building, the staircases are rather narrow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pier Inn Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing