We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”
Review of Cross Butts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Butts Hotel
Ranked #62 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights in stable 3. We were amazed!!! Heated stone floors, jacuzzi bath, mezzanine level bedroom with stunning hand crafted oak furniture and beautiful shagpile rugs. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was THE BEST we've ever had in a hotel before. A truly fabulous stay.x

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L250883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 343 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed at Crossbutts consistently over the last 7 years and whilst it is not perfect its not far off.
Room 2 is my usual room and i cannot ever remember seeing any cleanliness issues there , or in any other room and seeing the wrok ethic of the people who do the rooms i would be amazed if they let anything like this happen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harryboy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were looking for somewhere around the Whitby area to break up the Christmas holiday and get out and about. We travelled with my elderly father in law and so this was probably not the best choice for him, as the rooms (and pricing) are very much geared up to couples. Also, the galleried rooms are on a split level with the bed upstairs and the bathroom downstairs (with a small lounge area and TV).

However, the rooms were clean, really well appointed and cosy, despite opening up onto a blustery courtyard. Unfortately for us, the first night was very windy, and as the stables open to the outside, it was noisy and rattly.

We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant on both evenings. On both occasions we had a really good table, and we experienced excellent and efficient service and very tasty and well presented food.

The restaurant itself is delightfully furnished in a cosy rustic style. Upstairs in the extensive lounge area has several comfy leather sofas, which was a nice place to relax either before or after dinner.

Breakfast was wonderful. Lovely choice of cereals and fruit plus a cooked to order hot meal, from egg on toast to a full English breakfast, and anything in between.

The hotel has plenty of free car parking (though it does get busy) but its too far out of Whitby to walk, which means the perennial problem of trying to park in Whitby on a busy weekend (unless you take a taxi of course!).

In summary (if I could) I would give this 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayjay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My colleagues and I once again really enjoyed our Chrismas lunch this year. Very good value for money. Lovely and hot. Fresh veg well cooked. Friendly staff. I just love the atmosphere, open fires and fantastic views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Arranged birthday party for my wife with family and friends on the basis of previous visits and was not disapointed. All arrangements were carried out to my satisfaction and more. All rooms were clean and with everything you would need. The meals were excellent, brought to the table hot and within a reasonable time. All staff were friendly and helpful. I would admit that the menu understates itself, which I understand they are addressing, but it adds to the overall experience.
Long may it continue. We will be back, maybe in the Spring.

Room Tip: Gallery rooms are well equiped. Anniversary rooms have more to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is our second visit to cross butts, lovely warm welcome no change there, meals good, lovely staff, We stayed in room 2 which was very dusty, beds nice and clean, small room expensive at 100 pounds per night, gallery rooms a little more expensive but much better, I would not like to see this lovely find drop its standards, but sorry the room needs a good clean.

Room Tip: room 6 which our friends stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeangeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrive at the restaurant , looked really nice and cosy from the outside .
Felt really let Down with the menu , didnt know what kind of restaurent it was , menu was very confusing .
The galic bread was awful , the chicken sizzing dish was only a bit better ,
i feel awful writing a bad a report , and i never complain , but come on Cross Butts you can improve

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank katiekins666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#65 of 152 in Whitby
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sneaton Castle Centre
Sneaton Castle Centre
#88 of 152 in Whitby
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#42 of 152 in Whitby
367 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Butts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Butts Hotel

Address: Guisborough Road, Whitby YO21 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $123 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Butts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its high emphasis on sourcing local produce, to Courtyard rooms, to a unique Stag suite with private Hot Tub and Sauna (perfect for that ultimate romantic getaway), award winning Cross Butts offers 4-star dining and accommodation just 2 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. The family-run restaurant serves a varied seasonal menu in a rustic setting, with exposed beams and flagstone floors. The views of the Esk Valley can be enjoyed from the garden room complete with its own log burner. Guests can relax in the bar area complete with a traditional working cast iron range or by the garden pond which has its own thatched pagoda island. On the edge of Whitby, Cross Butts is where town really meets country. A perfect base for exploring nearby Sandsend, Robin Hood’s Bay and the beautiful North York Moors National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cross Butts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Butts Hotel And Stable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing