We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding”
Review of Cross Butts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Butts Hotel
Ranked #65 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room was superb, great idea to have a separate sitting room to the bedroom, it was like a small apartment, the bathroom was excellent, included a jacuzzi bath and brilliant separate shower. The grounds and views are outstanding, the bar and restaurant is extremely comfortable but the real gems are the garden conservatory, great place for an evening meal and a treat at breakfast and the upstairs lounge. After food there is no better place to relax with a drink sat on the large sofas! Then the food, perfect balance between a top end bar menu and a high quality specialist restaurant, the evening meal was as good as it gets, the breakfast was just as good we even came bak for lunch!

The service from staff was friendly and extremely helpful, they made you feel welcome and relaxed.

Some people will say the prices maybe a bit high, I would disagree and say its worth every penny. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyfromhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely setting, the rooms are very nice we stayed in a Gallery stable, immaculate great service all round in particular the restaurant where Michael overlooked our evenings with a lovely smile and five star service and food, it got rather warm for us in the night so we opened the velux window which is automatic also the night blind is remote controllable. The only downside for us was the traffic noise from the busy road which could be heard from the room as they back onto the road, it hasn't put us off going again though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiddle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was lucky enough to find and experience this place through business and what an absolute treat it was.
One of the most beautiful B&B's I have ever encountered serviced by caring and attentive staff.
The hard work and dedication to quality from its family owners is engrained into every square inch of the place and they have something to be very proud of.
I only wish I lived less than 200 miles away so I could easily popweekend weekends away!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouieGribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We took my mum for her birthday in the evening, meals are very good and the desserts are presented beautifully. I have found that the lunch menu has more choice and isn't as pricey as the eve menu. But it is well worth a visit for either. The surrounds are stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank towngirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on Sept 16/17th and found everything excellant - accomodation/staff/parking/food - it was so peaceful there and a walk round the grounds in the morning & evening taking in the animals and the views was lovely. Also the food in the restaurant is fantastic. I cannot fault it at all and will be going back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms/stables are set in a lovely courtyard therefore they are all ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank essexgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at another hotel but decided to eat here as we couldn't make our mind up.

An excellent choice. Food amazing and decor incrediable and adds character. However I would recommend only going for a starter as the food you get a lot!! Dessert looked amazing all homemade sugar spinning swans etc. but we could eat anymore! The rooms also look amazing and we would like to stay here again. It's not far from Whitby itself only about a 6min drive if that.

Would recommend to anyone,

Room Tip: There's a lot of food. So only go for mains if you don't eat a lot. Desserts looking incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lia786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed her again for two nights Bank Holiday Weekend . What can I say ! Excellent stay yet again .
So much attention to detail, very clean , wonderful staff, amazing stay . I cannot fault it at all .

Fantastic !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
647 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#41 of 152 in Whitby
371 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sneaton Castle Centre
Sneaton Castle Centre
#87 of 152 in Whitby
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Butts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Butts Hotel

Address: Guisborough Road, Whitby YO21 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $124 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Butts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its high emphasis on sourcing local produce, to Courtyard rooms, to a unique Stag suite with private Hot Tub and Sauna (perfect for that ultimate romantic getaway), award winning Cross Butts offers 4-star dining and accommodation just 2 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. The family-run restaurant serves a varied seasonal menu in a rustic setting, with exposed beams and flagstone floors. The views of the Esk Valley can be enjoyed from the garden room complete with its own log burner. Guests can relax in the bar area complete with a traditional working cast iron range or by the garden pond which has its own thatched pagoda island. On the edge of Whitby, Cross Butts is where town really meets country. A perfect base for exploring nearby Sandsend, Robin Hood’s Bay and the beautiful North York Moors National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cross Butts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Butts Hotel And Stable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing