We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but slightly artificial”
Review of Cross Butts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Butts Hotel
Ranked #66 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Visited for a friend's wedding.
The wedding room is tight for the 30 people in it. The venue is relatively recently refurbished and the hotch potch of "romantic" items in the garden make it seem slightly artificial.
Good food for the wedding breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHarness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Been to The Stables over the years but feel that the food doesnot have the same extra something that it had.
Such a shame because there is a lot choice of quality restaurants in Whitby.
The service though is still good but the choice is not the same.
It was better when it was self-service at the carvery & we only given 1 choice of meat at our last visit when it used to be 3 .
We also thought the cost of soft fizzy drinks at £1.60 per glass was a little bit expensive.
Still in a lovely setting & but will be a while till we return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaz5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Have eaten here a lot of times.
food always excellent and service always excellent.
would love to stay here but we only live 2 miles away so seems bit pointless.
lovely place overall

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millymolly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

we have only been for a meal there everything was very nice ,would like to stay for the night .the grounds are lovely nice for a wedding

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loftus-sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel (converted barn) but would have gladly stayed more! My room was very cosy especially because the flag stones had underfloor heating. The room was a lovely mix of modern and traditional. It was immaculately clean with a lovely bathroom. Not sure if any of the rooms have baths but mine just had a shower, which is fine for me but if you do particularly want one in your room then maybe it would be best to ask before booking.
Didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but have been told that the food is very nice there. Breakfast in the morning was great with a good selection of hot items cooked to order. They offered the usual traditional full breakfast but also other items such as smoked mackerel.
The hotel is well located, only a 3minute car ride down to the centre of Whitby.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewbyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Fantastic food and service, modern tidy rooms and a lovely location. A great place to stay if you don't want to be in town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazza_ip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We made a last minute booking and stayed over Saturday night in the Anniversary Suite, the room was immaculate, king size bed, decorated lovely and very welcoming, we had our 4 year old son with us and nothing was a trouble to any of the staff. We booked a table to eat on the evening and the food was amazing from starters to dessert. We had a lovely relaxing evening before retiring to the warm cozy room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful down to recommending food on the menu. The full english breakfast the following morning was again delicious. Will definately be returning to this lovely little hide away.

Room Tip: Anniversary suite is roomy and has a whirlpool bath as well as shower cubicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenP734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sneaton Castle Centre
Sneaton Castle Centre
#88 of 152 in Whitby
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#65 of 152 in Whitby
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#45 of 152 in Whitby
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Butts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Butts Hotel

Address: Guisborough Road, Whitby YO21 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $123 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Butts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its high emphasis on sourcing local produce, to Courtyard rooms, to a unique Stag suite with private Hot Tub and Sauna (perfect for that ultimate romantic getaway), award winning Cross Butts offers 4-star dining and accommodation just 2 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. The family-run restaurant serves a varied seasonal menu in a rustic setting, with exposed beams and flagstone floors. The views of the Esk Valley can be enjoyed from the garden room complete with its own log burner. Guests can relax in the bar area complete with a traditional working cast iron range or by the garden pond which has its own thatched pagoda island. On the edge of Whitby, Cross Butts is where town really meets country. A perfect base for exploring nearby Sandsend, Robin Hood’s Bay and the beautiful North York Moors National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cross Butts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Butts Hotel And Stable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing