We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Haven it was!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Cook's Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Cook's Haven
Ranked #4 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven it was!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was our first time stay and we read the reviews!
we arrived on 5th November for 4 night stay with our dog, yes there was fireworks but in the distance and a lot quieter than if we had been at home.
The cottage (no 8 ) was lovely, very clean and comfortable we loved it, well worth the travel time from Devon. Friendly ducks daily visited and geese! walks with the dog were great.
Salisbury supermarket just a short drive away but have to go into town if you want take away.
lots of places let you take your dog inside even found a fish and chip shop dogs allowed!
Only down fall was everything stops 31st October so no steam trains or access to Whitby Abbey best to do homework before your trip to find out whats open and whats shut.
Glad we read reviews but also glad we went to see for ourselves as we thought it very clean and being given your own key to use the pool was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonHaztaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    80
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
135
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in cottage no. 31 (swallow cottage) an upside down house. The cottage was very homely and was just what we wanted. We had a brilliant holiday and would definitely stay here again. The view of the viaduct, steam train and river was lovely. Just watch out for the angry goose.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked and then saw the bad reviews so were a bit apprehensive but need't have worried .Lovely people .lovely clean place to stay .Nice pool were in it every afternoon .Great views over river and viaduct nice walks over viaduct .Easy to find ,great location.Clean warm comfortable cottage.Didnt hear of any complaints while we were there.Would stay again .we were in no 16.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfiebuvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

For 5 years now we have been coming to captain Cook's haven and find it to be an ideal base for touring the local area. We have stayed in various accommodation and I do agree that it can be a bit hit and miss as these cottages are privately owned and Hoseasons act as booking agent only, do not seem to have much input with the accommodation itself. This year we stayed in one of the larger properties Cook's cottage at the top of the hill opposite reception and found it to be of a much higher standard therefore you get what you pay for. Overall, I would recommend and we will definitely return, kids love the pool and as I mentioned the location is perfect. If you are at all put off by other reviews then book no 26 which will not disappoint.








a generally high standard (you get what you pay for)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeds_lady_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We are staying at Captain Cooks Bay Whitby at the moment in numbers 30 and 46 and after reading some of the reviews were a little worried. However both cottages are clean well kept and comfortable.Kitchens are very well equipped and number 30 has the added bonus of a dishwasher. The views are stunning and the area has plenty to do and see. Don't be put off by some of the reviews just hope for good weather!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The first thing evident on entering the cottage is how much attention and TLC the owners give this property. it is beautifully kept, everything is catered for. The kitchen had all needed to cook hearty meals. The lounge and bedrooms are comfortable and cosy, and everything is so clean. A lovely modern bathroom with a good shower. An excellent location as a base for exploring the Yorkshire moors and coast or a real home from home to spend a relaxing week. Loved the prize position in front of the river, beautiful scenery and surroundings, will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have stayed at Captain Cooks Haven many times, we like the beautiful scenery and the sight of the steam trains going by.However the last few times we have noticed the standards of cleanliness slipping.The last time we stayed in No 32 the upper level, an upside down style cottage to take advantage of the view.The downstairs bed room were damp smelling the bath room was very tired looking and had a long black hair on the shower wall.The main bed room bed was very uncomfortable and rickety due to one of t he legs being broken.The carpet behind the draws had not been vacuumed for a long while.All in all we were very disappointed with the falling standards of Hoseasons.Does not help with not having anybody at reception only the maintenance man.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricky_heafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Larpool Hall
Larpool Hall
#17 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook's Haven

Property: Captain Cook's Haven
Address: Larpool Lane, Whitby YO22 4NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Captain Cook's Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook`s Haven Hotel Whitby
Captain Cooks Haven Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing