We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but poor accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Cook's Haven
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely location but poor accommodation”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had great hopes for our stay in August, having booked several cottages for our extended family. Pretty location, lovely grounds and views! What a shame though to find accommodation in need of a good clean and complete refurbishment, including old rusting kitchen appliances and stained carpets. We understand the cottages are privately owned, so where is the quality control by Hoseasons? Some cottages are evidently better than others but one price for all it seems. So it put a damper on our week. Had we known we were booking a basic 3* standard cottage instead of a 4*, then we would have booked elsewhere. Booking staff seem unaware of individual cottage gradings, so book with caution...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VCB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    85
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
149
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent a week at Captain Cooks Haven in the second week of September. Firstly I’d like to say that we had some concerns after reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor about Captain Cooks Haven and found that the remarks were justified. There were main three complaints on the whole, our cottage could definitely do with a good thorough clean and basically the equipment in the cottage was past its best also we did hear our neighbours on several occasions, probably due to thin walls. After saying this it did not spoil our time here. We went in the leisure centre several times to use the pool. No sauna or steam room unfortunately. The site is in a good position close to Whitby but in a quiet location at the side of the river. Our cottage was close to the leisure centre at the top of the hill, some are at the bottom next to the river. The gardens around the site are well kept and there are several play areas for children.

The weather was good during our stay and we managed to do plenty of walking. You can walk on the old train lines The Cinder Track into Whitby over the viaduct, which took us 15 to 20 minutes. If you go in the opposite direction on the track you can walk to Robin Hoods Bay which we did or as far as Scarborough. This track seemed to be very popular with cyclists. You can also walk back along Larpool lane to the main road into Whitby which takes about the same amount of time. We also went for a walk in the opposite direction along Larpool lane to Ruswarp where the steam train passes through and we walked into Whitby along the path adjacent to the train lines which passes by Captain Cooks Haven on the opposite side of the river.

We tended to walk into Whitby in the evenings but we noticed after 6pm car parks next to the harbour were free. There’s plenty of choice to to eat out in Whitby, we liked Trenchers and The Stables.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Robjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here in the first week of September, the weather was unbelievable, huge bonus. We stayed at No. 22 which is down at the river, house was well equiped but could have down with a deep clean, I have let Hoseasons know about this, however, it would not put us off going again. If you are looking for a peaceful break with the ability to walk into town, this place is ideal. There are 2 ways to get to town, one over the viaduct and one down the road you come in, both take 25 - 30 minutes. If you're in town, maximum we paid for a taxi home was £6. Steam train goes into Whitby 3 times a day and back out again, we took deckchairs and would sit at the river at night and enjoy a bottle of wine with only the ducks to listen to. Only downside is if you are down at the river, the walk up the hill on the way out is very steep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in Endevour Cottage Number 45 for one week which was located just behind reception and close to the pool and play area. We travelled with our 2 young children one 22 months old and one 14 weeks old.
On booking this property through hoeseasons we were advised children had to be part of the booking to apply for the discount price.
On arrival we were met at reception by a very friendly lady who gave us a map and info of where we could find things.
Our cottage was in the middle of a row of four others, I did feel quite sorry for our neighbours that we hadn't even met yet as i know how loud our 2 kids can be first thing in the morning but we never got any complaints although I'm still watching reviews on here.
On walking into the property first impressions were very good, 2 good size sofa's, a tv, a dining table and a decent kitchen. The bedrooms were a good size and our little one liked the bunk beds. The bathroom was ok but had mould around the grouting in the bath and the shower screen didn't stop the water from going on the floor.
The cottage overall was great for adults but not very child friendly even though it said our party had to include kids. There was no form of lock on the childrens bedroom door only a latch type mechanism that could easily be opened by young hands. There were no child gates for the top of the stairs either so if our eldest had got up in the night she could have gone straight down the stairs.
We used the pool a few times, great every time we went, nice and clean and really enjoyed it.
The childrens play area by our property is in need of an up-date, its looking very tired although our eldest really enjoyed what was there, I just think it could be a lot better and hopefully some money will be spent on the play areas.
We walked into Whitby once and really enjoyed the views from the viaduct, it took us about 45 minutes but that was with our little one walking some of the way.
Overall a great holiday, I would reccommend this to any familly with kids but the owners need to spend a bit of money in certain area's and up-date the properties to make them child friendly. We will certainly be booking again soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHNHEPPENSTALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped at 27 cookes cottage from the first the first of September to the 4th,first of all the cottage was stunning in its location and facilities,there was everything included for a quality holiday the view from our cottage was stunning a view of the viaduct and the railway with the added bonus of the regular steam trains..The cottages are within walking distance of whitby across the viaduct but are also very quiet and relaxing especially sat on the patio overlooking the river with a glass of wine,lastly we have stopped previously in another cottage on this site which was excellent but nothing beats the view from this cottage

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Visted Captain Cook's Haven last week with my wife and 6 year old son and we were not very impressed. We stayed on the lower level at riverside (the resort is baiscally two levels with a very steep hill separating the two levels).
On first inspection the cottage looked ok if a bit tired but on closer inspection was found to be dirty. Bathroom radiators full of dust, corner of rooms and bathroom full off dust, dirt and hair.
Swimming pool was small but acceptable, but changing rooms alweays smelt very damp and musty and were always very wet. Didn't appear to be much cleaning at all. Our neighnours at the cottage said they saw a used sticking plaster three days running at the side of the pool!
Children's play areas were very tired and run down especially the lower one at river side. The upper play area also flooded badly in one corner whenever there was any rain.
I told the maintenance man (who I never saw lift a finger apart from to lift the cigarrettes, that he constantly puffed on, to his mouth) who laughed and said "yeah maybe one day we'll get round to installing a soak away".
The location is ok for Whitby but is a 1.5 mile walk to the harbour area so not insignificant to walk there and back with young children.
Overall, other than the initial check in (which was quite professional) the overall impression of the site was poor and we would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just stayed for 1 week from 4th-11th August 2012, we stayed in no 21 waterside cottage. We loved the site and the location very picturesque, the cottage was lovely, very cosy and felt like home from home. Great place to stay for exploring the area, and close enough to Whitby to walk or pop down in the car. Our children loved it, feeding the ducks, they come right upto your door. The childrens playground was also nice and children played happily there.
The site is very clean and the grounds well maintained. We didn't use the pool but others said it was nice, we were too busy.... Oh, yes, and the steam train passes by quite regularly, another thing the children loved to see. There are outside gas BBQ's near all the cottages, lovely on a warm evening. Would definitely recommend this place, and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELLINADDICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 52 in Whitby
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook's Haven

Property: Captain Cook's Haven
Address: Larpool Lane, Whitby YO22 4NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Captain Cook`s Haven Hotel Whitby
Captain Cooks Haven Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing