We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Family with toddlers.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Cook's Haven
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for Family with toddlers.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our week was enjoyed by everyone: - 2 OAPs, 1 Adult & 2 Toddlers.
No 27 was ideal !
Local area has plenty to do to keep the little ones happy and there are numerous places to eat out within a couple of miles.
Swimming pool was used by ALL of us and toddlers 'nearly' learnt to swim.
~
ist time here but we will be back !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    88
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
154
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
co durham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

just returned from 3 night break stayed at 14 endeavour cottage, only criticism my 18 month grandson found a lighter between the cushions of the sofa,not good on closer inspection we found 2 more. so cleaners need to check sofa etc. its a lovely peaceful spot by the river ,oliver loved the trains also feeding the ducks by the river and outside the door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jakeysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in Endeavour Cottage no 44 in May. On arrival everything straight forward and looked OK when we went in. We took our cases straight up to the twin bedroom and on opening the drawer we found a large ball of hair pulled out of a hairbrush in the top drawer! Not the best start. On closer inspection the bathroom was clean but the rest of the house needed dusting and the kitchen needed a good clean. Otherwise everything was fine with adequate facilities including freeview tv with lots of channels. The heating was excellent and the bed linen OK. The staff obviously do not check the drawers in the bedrooms as when my son and his partner were leaving they check a drawer they had not used and found a wallet complete with driving licence that someone had left which we handed in to the office.
The cottage itself faced the childrens playground which was not in use when we were there as there were no children on site but looked really nice for small children. Just outside was a gas bbq for the Close to use and the pool was just a short walk away.
The site is well kept and had fantastic views of the viaduct and the river and it is in a beautiful location with many walks over the fields althought the road outside is very narrow and I felt quite dangerous to walk. It is though very peaceful and quiet, The pool is very warm and well kept and clean and a joy to use though most of the time it was just our family.
When the shower broke on the Sunday morning I informed the office and it was fixed in the afternoon.
I can only endorse everyone elses' review of the shops being a walk away to the village or having to go into Whitby but that did not bother us. Overall we would return as we had a wonderful time in the area and the site itself is gorgeous. We also found the staff very friendly and on reflection should have compaiined about the poor cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just back from here and absolutely loved it. cottage was lovely and very cosy, we were across from the river gorgeous views. The grounds were so well maintained. Ideal location for visiting other places. Great place for dogs, our dog had a ball.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I've wanted to visit Whitby since I was a girl so when my mum found this site through Hoseasons we booked up early! We stayed in Crows Nest Cottage (numb 27) one of 2 Cookes Cottages. It was excellent, first impressions very good. Plenty of space for myself, husband, 3 yr old son, my mum and stepdad. Ground floor living area is open plan and very bright with patio doors out to the balcony and amazing views over the river and train line (my son loved seeing the steam trains!) 1st floor has double bedroom, twin bedroom, bathroom and seperate wc. 2nd floor has a king size room with ensuite shower room and wc. It is a lovely cottage which allowed us all to have our own space and all of us benefited from the lovely views as all bedrooms face the river. The house was very clean, only a few bits here and there needed attention. Some of the drawers in the bedrooms are past their best but this certainly didn't worry us. The onsite staff were friendly and helpful, we loved the fact that it is quiet, no entertainment or bars to disturb us! On site pool is clean and a a great addition to the site, we were lucky enough to be the only ones in there she we chose to swim. It is quite small. We will definitely stay here again as it is brilliant value for money, spacious and close to Whitby (20 mins walk). Note that all the cottages are individually rented out so no two are the same.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaniDPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Enjoyed our family stay,, but could have been simply improved!!! Cleanliness..firstly, then everything else falls into place.... Spent first hour cleaning everywhere,, floors and bathrooms as well as all the kitchen equipment,, Beds and linen foysty..down the sides of the sofas!! Had a small child where little fingers travel!! Sights and area totally splendid tho, gardens and areas kept immaculate!!

Room Tip: Check for cleanliness, if not happy, call the reception,, this just lets the place down,, they need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etiecette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

nice enough for a few days could have been a lot cleaner we thought , the beds and pillows are uncomfortable and the bedroom carpet was pretty grubby which was a shame as i was impressed by the outside grounds are kept very tidy i thought and all appeared to be in decent condition as rentals go , we were down a slope beside the river so anyone with walking difficulties check where your staying , the downstairs loo was a plus also a downstairs bedroom , nice and quiet with lots of wildlife i enjoyed watching

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter200704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
827 reviews
1.2 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 53 in Whitby
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#51 of 151 in Whitby
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook's Haven

Property: Captain Cook's Haven
Address: Larpool Lane, Whitby YO22 4NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Captain Cook`s Haven Hotel Whitby
Captain Cooks Haven Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing