We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Cook's Haven
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is the annual destination for our October half term break, we have been 3 years in a row and just booked for this year. It's a lovely easy cycle or walk from the charming seaside town of Whitby along the cinder path and within easy driving distance of my favourite place in the whole of Yorkshire, Robin Hoods Bay. Children love the freedom and safety of the park and the swimming pool and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The accommodation can be a bit hit and miss as they are privately owned and furnished. We have found our favourite and the layout that works best for us a family of 5 is the Adventure Cottage, but overall it's a reasonably priced and enjoyable experience and we will continue to return every year having failed to find anything of this category that offers the same value and convenience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cottages are available on the upper or lowel level of the park, having stayed on both levels, my chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds_lady_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 272 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

Just returned back from a 4 day break with hubby and toddler twins. We booked on the Monday and went on the Tuesday!

We stayed at "Look Out" Cottage. (Cooke's Cottages) It was absolutely amazing - 3 storey house kitted out to a brilliant specification and lovely decor (incl. Blu-Ray Player) There were 4 toilets and 2 bathrooms...dishwasher as well as fridge-freezer, microwave and oven. Everything was in tip-top condition and really new. We did bring our own towels, dishwasher tablets, loo rolls etc.
The views from the cottage were amazing (as we were at the top opposite reception) and if it had been warmer we would have sat out on the decking/balcony.

The on-site manager was fantastic, really friendly. He even put the heating on before we got there so it was nice and warm for us....nothing was any bother for him. He was really busy every day (even though it was freezing out) maintaining the grounds which were immaculate.
We had "exclusive" use of the swimming pool (I don't think there were many people staying there) - the only niggle is that it was just over 1m going to really deep - so the twins couldn't touch the bottom, but they did have armbands so it was fine. It was really clean and warm and we had a key to come and go during the opening hours (open from 9 - 6.30pm)

The views from the cottage were amazing onto the River Esk. The playground is safe even for little ones and the ducks at the River Bank were a source of much amusement.

We did shop at Co-op in town but there is also a Lidl in Whitby as well. There aren't that many "major" shops in Whitby - although there are lots of great independent shops. The town itself is delightful and the Christmas lights are really pretty. Parking was really easy and free for 40 mins on the road (but we were off-season) We also did afternoons out to Scarborough and Redcar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Enjoyed our week in the cottage, great location, well furnished and maintained. Cottage 32 does need updating but overall it was excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The pool is very good and well looked after. Overall we would recommend the complex and will be returning next year. Our 4yr old loved it.

Room Tip: Choose the upside down cottages to avoid walking up the massive hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

we stayed in an upside down cottage on the top of the complex, very well equiped and very clean, we had our 1 year old with us and she loved going down to the river watching the steam train and feeding the ducks, we only had one day of bad weather so on that day we used the pool which was very clean and well worth a visit. Only wish we had was that the cottage we stayed in had seating outside as we spent most of our time outside enjoying the weather. walking into whitby is advisable down the old track saves trying to park and doesnt take that long. What more can i say it was that enjoyable we have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilli67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at these cottages with my wife and 15 year old son in September. Been here three times and as usual, had a wonderful stay. The cottage was very comfortable with everyting that you could need. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The swimming pool is heated and very clean, had a great time in Whitby, it only took 15 minutes to walk into town and cost about a fiver back in a taxi. (After a few glasses of wine), the views are to die for, it was lovely looking out over the river every morning with the ducks nesting by the front door. All in all, fantastic stay in a lovely cottage in a beautiful part of the world, we will be back x x

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunnerSDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at number 30 for half term. There was 5 people (can sleep up to 6 !). The whole property is looking very tired. Only one bathroom to share between us all with an old mira shower which was pathetic! Toilet seat falling off, bed extremly uncomfartable. The owners would be well advised to visit their property and maybe apend some money on some renovations.
On the plus side the site is in a great location in Whitby. Love the area ! hated the property !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tongting357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is our fourth visit to the site, it is lovely and quiet but perfect for families. There are lovely playgrounds for younger kids and a great swimming pool. The site is next to the River Esk and early morning is a great time to see the salmon leaping out of the water. There is plenty to do around and about but you do need a car. A great place to stay what ever the time of year

Room Tip: Book early all the houses are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbillymama-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.6 mi away
The Penny Hedge Lodge
The Penny Hedge Lodge
#22 of 152 in Whitby
294 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
273 reviews
4.8 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook's Haven

Address: Larpool Lane, Whitby YO22 4NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Captain Cook`s Haven Hotel Whitby
Captain Cooks Haven Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing