We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family stay.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LibbyC251
1 review
“Great family stay.”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect for a family stay. Lovely location. Will be booking again for sure. 30 MINS WALK TO THE TOWN CENTRE or a cheap taxi ride, very close to sainsburys if your needing a few bits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
j0hnh0bs0...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Visited with friends and three well behaved dogs. Abbey View was very homely and more than big enough for our party. Our friends and one dog only stayed 1 night through work commitments but we stayed for 3 days visiting the local area which was only a short drive away or a longish walk. The beaches in the area were great for dog walking and Whitby itself was so quaint. The owners were there if we needed them but fortunately we had no problems. We had a great time and would certainly return to Abbey View the next time we visit..

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
magwill2
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great family cottage”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was a delightful and quaint cottage that suited us well. It is located a short drive from Whitby and communications with the owners were fantastic. It was amazing value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A wonderful country cottage feel
Liked least: Due to the wind direction, we were able to smell the treatment plant a short distance away when the cottage doors were open.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarekLont...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“3 nights wasn't enough”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There were 4 adults 2 little guys and a pug thar stayed at the Abbey view cottage and it was spot on. The lounge area was very spacious and kitchen was well equipped. Only downside was the shower... I'm 6'3" and it was very cramped due to sloping ceiling , in my opinion a dormer window would add much extra space and ceiling height. That aside all else was good.
A 20 minute walk away is the Windmill pub ... you must visit, ghetto food is brilliant !
No hesitation in recommending the Abbey view if you're under 6'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickyhand...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“we enjoyed our stay.fab for our 5 children and great being pet friendley”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

the greeting we received was to a high standard. the property was very clean and well equipt. the location was ideal and the amenities was fantastic as we have 5 boys. the walk was perfect for taking our dog..

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing