We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb guest house excellent all round wouldn't look any further would stay here every time.”
Review of Lavinia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavinia House
Ranked #34 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful rooms, excellent locations and views. Sarah and John very welcoming and helpful. Very stylish rooms and breakfast excellent lots to chose from and coffee/tea/juice and toast refreshed , Nothing too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again. Rooms good size and relaxed. The rooms and guest house were spotless and smelled gorgeous as you walled in. Refreshed tea coffee in rooms. Rooms cleaned daily, gorgeous fluffy white towels and shower was perfect. Only niggle bed little hard but you never sleep better than you're own bed. Wifi little on/off. Parking ok just need patience. It's the best guest house we've stayed in. Couldn't fault our stay we really enjoyed our few days and staying at The Lavinia House made a big difference. THank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hymas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I booked for three nights at Lavinia House at the last minute for our wedding anniversary via the website IKnowYorkshire. From the outset John the co-owner proved efficient and attentive emailing me to say the booking had been received and then messaging me in the morning to confirm the time we would arrive so they could be sure to be in for our arrival. Although on arrival we did have to park around 100m or so from the B&B parking was free and we could see the car from the window. The hotel does not have dedicated parking and if it did then you would no doubt find your vehicle covered in seagull droppings as the unfortunate souls did who did park just outside. The location is superb, our room overlooked the harbour and St Mary's/Whitby Abbey on the East Cliff and you are around ten minutes from the town centre, shopping, 199 steps etc. There are also a number of famous restaurants including Ditto and Magpie's nearby and John will always be ready with his recommendations if you do not know Whitby. Breakfast is filling, well presented and cheerfully served by Sarah each morning, you are offered fresh fruit, cereals, toast and a full English as standard but can make requests for up to 6 alternatives or request variations of these (within reason) by filling in a slip and leaving it by 8pm the previous day. Sarah is always willing to offer you more and is so friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for either of the owners, John seemed disappointed we didn't need help with our bags, and neither make you feel you are being watched all the time. Also on offer is a varied collection of tourist information and free wifi in the lounge area on the ground floor. Our room was room 6 on the top floor, there is no lift but that wasn't a problem for us. The room is small but view lovely. The bed was comfortable, shower room well fitted and provided with After Eden toiletries and soft, full size bath sheets and hand towels (not the usual hankies some B&Bs expect you to cover yourself with out of the shower) there was more than enough space in the shower room for two but you do need to watch your head on the low eaves/beams in the room itself!! Shower pressure might be better though. There was also a well stocked tea/coffee tray which was replenished daily and extension cord to get around a lack of electricity sockets. A couple of minor points I would suggest that the owners use a lower tog duvet or provide an option as the room became quite hot at night and this disturbed my sleep. Also blackout linings for the curtains may be helpful. Whilst the window could be left on vent all night to help the location of the guest house on the one way system means there is often fairly constant stream of cars until quite late at night and from early in the morning which as I am a light sleeper is irritating, and the seagulls then create a racket too. Both outside the control of the owners of course but you may wish to consider requesting a room without a view if you also sleep lightly....or bring earplugs. The guest house itself is quiet you couldn't hear the guests in the adjacent rooms at all...their only rule really is respect others and keep noise levels down...fair point. Overall I'd stay again anytime....first class place reasonably priced for high season.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for rooms without sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbluvbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for a treat for my birthday! And what a treat it was immaculate and very welcoming. The room was very modern and well kept, the four poster bed was very nice, great touch. Breakfast was top notch and they catered to my needs. Overall a fab hotel and will defiantly reccomend to friends and family. If I'm ever In Whitby again ill be staying here!! Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bashley-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very happy to recommend Lavinia House. Everything about it is excellent. The furniture and decor are very up to date and everything is very clean. The only thing disappointing for my husband on our last stay was they didn't do kippers for breakfast, but now they do, so he was more than happy! We will definitely be returning.
Had an excellent meal at Ditto, a small restaurant on Skinner Street and also can recommend the Moon and Sixpence and the Marine. Walked to Sandsend and back on the beach which is a good walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Me and my wife stopped at this guesthouse 20/21.7.13 we stayed in room 4 which was very nice and comfy and very clean the breakfast are very nice and a good choice,with as much tea /coffee and toast as you want.
Nothing seems to be any problem John and Sarah are very nice and make you feel very welcome straight away the location of the guesthouse is great 5 mins from the sea front and about 10 mins from the "199 steps"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a wonderful guesthouse. This was recommended by friends and we now fully understand why. Exceptionally clean and well presented B&B. Excellent breakfast menu. Furniture was of a high quality and nothing was too much trouble for Sarah. We had asked that she chill down some bubbly for friends who were completing the coast to coast, not only did she chill it but she provided a cool box for us to take it down to the beach. Parking was the only downside but even that did not prove too much of a problem and despite moving the car a number of time we were still never more than 150m away from the hotel. This on what was a very hot and busy weekend in Whitby. If I were to nitpick I would just ask that the toiletries be replenished daily.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely. Great view and wonderfully comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiptonTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spacious high standard room , well furnitured, we like the two comfortable easy-chairs for chilling after having great days in Whitby, Staithes and the Moor. Perfect choices for breakfast and a lot of proposals for Dinner from John: All were fantastic (without any "magpie-queue"!). It´s quiet, but very short to all attractions of Whitby.

Room Tip: We had the room on topfloor with a lot of light and a wonderful look over Whitby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#25 of 152 in Whitby
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavinia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavinia House

Address: 3 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely house of character, an ideal base for discovering the coast, the North Yorkshire moors and the narrow streets of the delightful town of Whitby. All rooms are en-suite with bath or shower, TV's, beverage making facilities. Some rooms have king-size four poster beds, sea and harbour views. Freshly cooked full English breakfasts are served in our informal dining room. For the comfort of all guests, Lavinia House has a strictly no smoking policy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavinia House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing