We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate, first class bed n breakfast. J Hardy 6th April 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavinia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavinia House
Ranked #30 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Immaculate, first class bed n breakfast. J Hardy 6th April 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very impressive bed and breakfast. Immaculate! We really enjoyed our stay at Lavinia House. Luxurious room very spacious and cosy too. Breakfast first rate and hospitality excellent. A lovely peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Thank you very very much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
183
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent three nights here, and it's one of the best B and Bs we've stayed in. The room (7) was lovely, with a very spacious bathroom, extremely comfortable bed with an extra cover (it was Oct/November!). We had a great view of the bay from our room too, and there was a nice little seated alcove from which to enjoy it. I was also very pleased to be able to open the window very wide. This might sound daft but we've stayed in so many rooms where you either can't open the window at all, or only a bit, and it's quite anoying, so this was a really excellent detail for me. It's also very conveniently located, almost as close to the town centre as you can get without being on a heavily pedestrianised street. There's parking outside on a first come first served basis, but there's lots of streets you can park in around too, so it's not a huge problem. We liked that you can order different things for breakfast too, there was a good range of choice. The owners were very friendly, welcoming and unintrusive too. All in all, really good value at £70 a night for a double room.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 have great views of the bay. They're right on the top (3rd) floor, so maybe not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend of the 26th oct we was greeted by the male owner ( who we never saw again) but he was polite and very welcoming ..he showed us to our room (2) which was magnificent very clean and spacious .. Breakfasts were fantastic great choice and plenty of it and was served to s by the lady owner ( we assume ) who was also very polite and welcoming and made sure we had what ever we needed ..the rooms were cleaned every day and the tea and coffee replentshed ...if we had one slight problem it would have been that we would liked to of had a hotter shower but all in all we ad a terrific stay very relaxing ( what the doctor ordered) and would deffinatly stay there again thank you so much

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovethesunTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

'Pam and I had a wonderful break at Lavina House. The location was lovely, room excellent and service second to none.

If you are looking to take a break in the North East I couldn\'t recommend anywhere
better.

5 Star'

Room Tip: Room No 3 with the 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights,the room(3)was lovely,well worth the little extra for the sea veiw.we pointed the leather chairs towards the 2 windows,got a nice hot coffee[provided]and some bikkies[provided]and relaxed in the beautiful heated room,gazing at the world going by!massive bed,very clean bathroom.friendly couple who ran always helpful and smiley.we felt rested and happy when our trip was over.You must try humble pie and mash cafe-great experience.Also Mr.Chippy just as good as Magpie,but without the long queue.We will be back as we love Whitby,and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilberrydough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Lavinia is very comfortable accomodation, we arrived on a friday evening and stayed till sunday morning, room number 8, very clean with an absolutely superb en-suite, great views over the harbour too. King size bed was to die for as very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had by both myself and my other half. The full english breakfast is a must, well cooked, other choices if you don't want that. The owners have a lovely establishment and we shall certainly visit again.

Room Tip: we were at the top of the house so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and had a great time.
We were met with a nice warm friendly welcome and showed to our room.

The room we had (2) was very nice, spotlessly clean and finished to a very high standard - retaining some very nice original period features.

The breakfast was great, really well presented, great tasting produce and served up quickly and with a smile. There was a good choice of options to satisfy everyone.

If you're considering staying at this Guest House, you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#17 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#40 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavinia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavinia House

Property: Lavinia House
Address: 3 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely house of character, an ideal base for discovering the coast, the North Yorkshire moors and the narrow streets of the delightful town of Whitby. All rooms are en-suite with bath or shower, TV's, beverage making facilities. Some rooms have king-size four poster beds, sea and harbour views. Freshly cooked full English breakfasts are served in our informal dining room. For the comfort of all guests, Lavinia House has a strictly no smoking policy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavinia House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing