We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1 night”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok for 1 night”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the night on the 30th October this year. We found the room to be quite basic and the carpet and bathroom were a little unclean and I was dubious of using the cups. However the room was warm and stayed so all night (thankfully as it was a very cold weekend) and the bed very clean and very comfy. We slept well, except for the noise of the doors snapping shut and lights in the hall buzzing a little every now and again. We didn't have the complementary breakfast as we wished to visit another establishment. Over all quite good but would usually pay less for the room we recieved.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayjaynevermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    55
    36
    47
See reviews for
38
98
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place looked a bit scary from the outside, thought it was going to be some grotty pub accommodation.

Inside is a traditional bar with a separate area for the hotel guests to check-in. The rooms were nice and clean, and modern. Our bedroom (a double) was a decent size, too.

Friendly check-in staff.

There was a bit of noise from the bar below but no more than what you'd expect.

Nice location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteHallsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed there a few times now and always happy to go back, good atmosphere, service and food. Would highly recomend this to anyone staying close to this area, Whitby is a beautiful place and a good hotel just makes it better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed with my adult daughter for one night as we wanted to visit Whitby. Location is great, right by the station and big harbour car park, so you are right in the middle of things. It is basically a pub with quite a lot of letting rooms. the hotel part shows what a gorgeous building it mush have beenin its heyday, with high ceilings and lovely plasterwork, very impressive. We were on the 3rd floor so weren't troubled by noise from the pub, but I would think the 1st floor rooms can be quite noisy, especially on the nights when they have live music. The front rooms also look to the main road, so avoid these if you are bothered by traffic noise. Room was a decent size, quite smart-looking, decorated in neutral colours with modern furniture. A few stains on the carpet, but otherwise clean and well-presented, with a well-stocked tea/coffee tray. Good-sized shower room which looks as though it was refurbed some time ago, with some nasty black mould round the door edges of the shower, (would recommend their cleaners get in there with a toothbrush and some bleach!!)but otherwise clean. Bed and breakfast is only continental breakfast, if you want a cooked breakfast they charge you an extra £5, but you could help yourself to as much as you wanted of tea, coffee, fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and various preserves, so not really a problem unless you are determined to have a full English!

Room Tip: First floor rooms bigger, but higher rooms quieter due to noise from the venue below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

just came back from weekend at this hotel had great weekend with our friends the weather was perfect shame about the hotel it was not that clean stains on the carpets shabby curtains the blinds in the bathroom didnt open and they were filthy the shower was really small, only given one toilet roll, towels on the small side, staff friendly enough, if you have a room on the front its really noisey as the windows are not double glazed and its on a main road. be aware of friday/ saturday nights as this hotel has a night club in the basement which is also the restarant so its really noisey until 2.am

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brennans091822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thanks to all the staff at the George again. Had a great stay once more. Sorting out dates and will book again for next year. Weather was good, (don't know how you do that). Main thanks to Alison who puts up with us messing her about with who is and who isn't coming. Lovely smile and greeting when we arrive. Would advise this hotel if you are looking for a quiet weekend. Very lively but that is how we all like it. That's why we have been staying for over 20 years.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room ... back or front. No view from either but you don't get the central ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOrganiser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

For what it cost me £35 B&B I can't really complain. I had a room right at the top without ensuite but the bathroom was in close proximity.

My room (21) was spotlessly clean with two twin beds and recently decorated. A Flat Screen TV was present. The only minor gripe was the lack of a chair - just a stool to sit on.

The Continental Breakfast was ok - individual packeted kellogs cereals, fruit and diy toast and coffee. A cooked option was available at £5 extra which appeared quite substansive.

Free WIFI available and a private key carded entrance allows access and egress 24/7

Room Tip: I noticed on arrival the Hotel was not full and the blackboard outside showed the price plummeting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtsFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#9 of 20 in Whitby
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 38 Baxtergate, Whitby YO21 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The George Hotel in Whitby, we offer the ideal base from which to enjoy your stay in the beautiful seaside town of Whitby. Situated right in the heart of the town, everything you may want is within easy walking distance - from the marina and beaches, to museums and shops, and even the North Yorkshire Moors Railway.Come and sample our welcoming atmosphere, with friendly staff & comfortable surroundings. We have a lively hotel bar with several nights of entertainment, along with another bar which can be hired for private functions.You won’t miss out on any sporting moments as we have Sky Sports HD & BT Sports shown on large screens. We also offer a good range of wines & spirits at affordable prices & hand pull ale. Lavazza coffee is now available along with other hot beverages. Free Wi-fi is also available throughout the bar area and most hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing