We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Dracula themed B&B, fun and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bats and Broomsticks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bats and Broomsticks
Ranked #34 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dracula themed B&B, fun and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We’ve stayed at the excellent Bats and Broomsticks many times over the years, and are always glad to be back. Kev and Tish are great hosts, making sure you have everything you need, and they keep the place in tip top condition. We always feel comfortable there. The guests are a good mix of colourful characters and normal folk. All the rooms are thoughtfully decorated down to the smallest detail including comfortable four poster beds (we have stayed in the red (lunar), gold (solar) and green (green man) rooms). We love the spookily themed décor. The breakfast is worth the trip to Whitby on its own – choose from a full meaty or a full veggie breakfast. Can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lunar on ground floor is quiet even though next to the road, and spacious. All rooms are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrisIsis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
161
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This place is by far and above the best B+B I have stayed at.
Kev the owner, is a really nice down to earth bloke and suits the whole Bats and Broomsticks genre down to a tee.
The location is easy to find and within walking distance of the town centre.
The rooms are decorated and cleaned to a very high standard, the wife and I are clean freaks and to see this kind of cleanliness was very refreshing.
Breakfast was very, umm, different. The food choice and quality is excellent and Kev strives for perfection on being the host, without realising it, the breakfast room itself was just fantastic I wont give away too much.
The general décor of the place was very good indeed it carried the gothic look very well, you can tell that a lot of time and effort has gone into making it look and feel as authentically Gothic as possible.
Parking was very easy and secure.
I could go on about Bats and Broomsticks for quite a while but let me just say this, If you are curious about it and would like a B + B with a difference Give Kev a call and book a room.
The wife and I loved it and we're quite normal. Thanks Kev, thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Lunar room was very nice and on the front of the building, you must look in the wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GT500DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Booked on the spur of the moment as I'd heard of Bats and Broomsticks and fancied having a look around. Kev was super helpful on the phone as we were coming in a classic car and needed somewhere to bung it safely. We stayed in the Lunar room, with a HUGE 4 poster wooden bed with dried ivy and bats hanging from it. The room had a massive wardrobe and stakes and garlic in the bottom incase of unwelcome midnight visitors.

The room was large, really well equipped with 2 sofas, a dressing table loads of mirrors for my to put my buckets of eyeliner on in and the comfiest nicest dressed bed I've ever seen in a b&b. The bathroom had a bath easily big enough for two and the whole place is amazingly decorated. The B&B has loads of surpirses, open every drawer cause you never know what will be in it!!

Breakfast was really great, big full english, 2 of everything cooked to order with hot drinks on tap with toast and jams and even a pot of marmite on the side! ACE! The whole place is lovely and clean and finished well. Couldnt fault is as all the other boring chintzy middle of the road places in whitby were loads more money and not half as insteresting! I want to go back!!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spandorexxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I booked the a room at bats & broomsticks as a suprise for my partner and Kev the owner helped me go along with this. The room was superb! the collection of horror films on offer to watch in our room was excellent, we were close to the town centre thereofr going out for a meal and walking back was no problem, the little extra quirky things you would never find in another B&B were a lovely touch and added to the experience, breakfast was very forfulling! Im a vegatarian and this was no problem for Kev the owner as he had vegarian sausages at the ready! The host Kev couldnt have been more helpful if he had tried! the whole trip was brilliant and I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick Garrison
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Kev and Tish the owners of the lovely Bats and Broomsticks we're very lovely and accommodating. They helped us to get from the train station to the B and B, gave us a list of a dog friendly restaurants and even had a dog dish in the room for our dog Ralphey. The gothic B and B was like a home away from home fangtastically decorated! The breakfast was amazing! We wouldn't be able to stay anywhere else in Whitby now that we've stayed here. We stayed in the Dracula room and it was absoloutely perfect it's very spacious lavishly decorated the bat hanging from the bed was my personal favorite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeanneFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Not much to say that hasn't been said ! From check in to check out everything was first class. We will be back.One problem was we didn't get to use our Vampire staking kit as we missed out seeing Dracula. Solar room was very nice comfortable bed and excellent facilities. We did see Dracula albeit on DVD from the massive collection.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barryandlesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Brilliant B & B, if you are looking for a Goth experience, you have to come here. Rooms and dining room are fantastic as is the service. The breakfast is to die for!! We really enjoyed our time here and will be back :-D.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#38 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Overdale Guest House
Overdale Guest House
#28 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#37 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bats and Broomsticks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bats and Broomsticks

Property: Bats and Broomsticks
Address: 11 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bats and Broomsticks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bats And Broomsticks Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing