We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with a twist!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bats and Broomsticks
Ranked #46 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B with a twist!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just came back from a one night stay at Bats and Broomsticks. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking to stay in Whitby. The owner Kev was very welcoming - we were meant to check in between 11-12 but got stuck in traffic, however, he waited for us so we could still check in when we arrived. An excellent touch I thought. Me and my boyfriend stayed in the dracula room. I do not usually sleep very well when I'm not at home but I can honestly say that I had the best night sleep ever in the comfy four poster bed. I noticed that the B&B is absolutely spotless. Not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere!! The breakfast is to die (no pun intended) for. I would definitely be going back for another stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
168
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend are just back from a great weekend in Whitby, made all the better for this great bed & breakfast. The rooms are great and have everything that you need. The huge DVD/Video library was a nice touch. Breakfast by candlelight with goff music playing the background was really good fun. Breakfast by the way is a full on affair and will set you up for the day. Kev and Tish really do thing right and i will happily recommend Bat's and Broomsticks to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Running late, I received a very friendly phone call from the hotel owner, just checking we weren't lost - how considerate!
Upon arrival we were given a warm, friendly greeting, a tour and even a quick lesson on how to use the sky control (nice touch as I didn't have a clue).
The décor was amazing and I can not justify in words the attention to detail to create a quirky, unique Gothic atmosphere (I loved the garlic and vampire stakes in the closet!). The great thing was that all these details were not too over the top and didn't spook us at all!!!
Breakfast was delicious and hearty, set in an amazing dining room with vampire salt and pepper shakers and Gothic music.
I've never loved staying in a place away from home so much and I will definitely go back many times!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Man room, it was great. I loved the spider web detail on the bed and the cute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was great., Kev welcomed us and was terrific from when we arrived to saying goodbye the next morning. Such attention to detail, so much gothic paraphernalia right down to the emergency kit in the wardrobe. I am glad I don't have to do the cleaning and dusting, the place was spotless. Candlelit breakfast freshly cooked and massive. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margerydawes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

So if you're going to the adopted home of Count Dracula, here's the perfect place to get the full Gothic experience. Bats & Broomsticks isn't nearly as tacky as a 'Gothic theme guest house' might sound. Yes...there's a bat hanging off the end of the four poster in the Dracula room, yes...there's a coffin at the top of the stairs and yes...there's a....well, I won't say what's in the wardrobe, but the rooms are comfortable and sumptuous.

Gimmicks apart it's a really well run, clean and welcoming B&B. The owners are charming, a great source of local knowledge and breakfast is delicious. You probably do need to be prepared to revel in the dark side to enjoy it but for us the Jesus and Mary Chain soundtrack accompanying the candlelit breakfast was a perfect touch.

It's a shame there are no en-suites but each room does have it's own private bathroom just across the hall, well stocked with products and towels and sparklingly clean.

Would certainly return and recommend.

Room Tip: Lunar, Solar, Dracula...all the rooms are themed. The fun is finding out which one you've got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 and loved every minute! The owners have really put effort into making the B&B gothic themed, and although some bits are fun (garlic in the cupboard incase of emergency!) it is not at all tacky.
The bedrooms were great, with 4 poster beds and lovely decor. The only downside was not having an en-suite, but the private bathrooms (which were very clean and well decorated) were only a quick walk down the hallway (past the lifesize model of a man which can be a bit spooky!)

There's a huge selection of videos/dvds to watch (most of them horrors!)
Breakfast was lovely - just the right amount of food to set you up for the day! The dining room (in the basement) has the same gothic theme running through it. (The carved knives and forks were brilliant!) I've now experienced breakfast by candlelight with some rock music in the background!

Overall, I'd have to say this B&B is one of the best and most fun that I've stayed in. It's only a short walk from the town centre, and is run by lovely people who are obviously very fond of what they do!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezie_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here on the Bank Holiday weekend just gone for the Sunday and Monday night and had an awesome time! Lovely large room with a 4 poster bed which was extremely comfy, felt right at home! We stayed in the Lunar room which was awesomely gothic and just completely brilliant - i don't want to spoil it for anyone, so I'll just describe the other great features :o) The room has a massive kettle (I know, I like my cuppas!) proper sized mugs and more tea and coffee than anyone could possibly drink; sky freeview and a ton of DVDs down the hall that the owners leave for you to watch. Breakfast was stunning, accompanied by Billy Idol on the first day and Me First and the Gimme Gimmes on the second. The owner Kev is pretty awesome and shared some great touristy tips on the area. We are defo going back again - would recommend it to anyone into Dracula/ Goth/ Dragon stuff or just something a bit different!

Room Tip: Lunar room is at the front of the property - but has like superduper triple glazing so there is bare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#42 of 151 in Whitby
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bats and Broomsticks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bats and Broomsticks

Property: Bats and Broomsticks
Address: 11 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bats and Broomsticks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bats And Broomsticks Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing