We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice for a seaside stay”
Review of Grantley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantley House
Ranked #124 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2008

My family and I stayed in Whitby for two nights in the summer, and found the Grantley to be both welcoming and comfortable. We had the family room - high up, something to ponder if you have babes in arms still, but roomy enough for the four of us and en-suite. It was very clean. Breakfasts were locally sourced and generous in size (none of the "do you think your son really needs bacon *and* sausage, sir?" approach). The location of the B&B is in a street with a variety of other places; it's a bit of a hike up (but remember the town is built on cliffs; and it's a short cab ride if you have luggage), obviously quite easy to get down - and even then the host was kind enough to volunteer a ride to the train station when he saw my burden. The beach is directly below and accessed by stairs, or by quick switchback streets - Captain Cook (and his whalebones) are likewise in a nearby park, at the level of the B&B. Whitby itself is lovely and atmospheric, enough so that it keeps the honky-tonk at bay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanariesPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Grantley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2008

I am so pleased with this great little place. I was looking for somewhere to stay with my friend for one night - I tried several places in Whitby and all refused to book us in unless we stayed two nights! Not the Grantley, they happily accommodated our one night request. I initially made contact through iknow-yorkshire and within 12 hours as promised I was offered a room and the whole booking process was quick and efficient. Justin was especially good at sorting things out. On arrival we were lucky and managed to park outside first time - I can imagine at times it is harder to get parking especially as it is free. It was raining heavily when we got there and after being shown our rooms we were immediately offered pots of tea and biscuits in the dining room which was great. Justin gave us all the information we needed and soon after we headed off for fish and chips at The Magpie as recommended (they were delicious) after visiting the whale bones of course. The location of this B&B is great, a five minute walk to the front - very central and safe. The room we were in was large, clean and comfortable and did the job for a one night stay (even has digital tv). The bathroom was a bit outdated but we were not there to spend the weekend in there! You get your own key card which accesses both your room and the external doors which means you can come and go anytime you like. The owners were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast was also good (you are given a card on arrival that allows you to choose the time you are likely to come to breakfast and what hot breakfast options you would like - they have everything - this means you don't wait long for breakfast in the morning which I thought was a good as I was starving), in addition to the full English there is an extensive choice of fresh fruit, cheese/ham and cereals etc to help yourself to. We were even offered more fruit on departure! All this for a very reasonable price of £60 booked at late notice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Poker-Queen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Grantley House, and what a stay it was!
Breakfasts where the best we have ever had in a B & B, with a choice that could not be bettered, there was fresh strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, pineapple, melon and grapefruit every morning, 6 different choices of cereals, yoghurts, 4 different kinds of juices, then there is a large and varied cooked breakfast or light bite menu to choose from.

Our room was absolutley beautiful, we had the superking suite with luxury en-suite, this room overlooks the front of the house and has a very large flat screen TV with Sky Freeview, a leather setee and 2 chairs, wine cooler and the most fantastic marble fireplace. The en-suite had his and hers washbasins, and a large shower cubicle, and was indeed luxurious.

Justin and Martin could not have been more attentive hosts, they gave good advice on where to visit and where to eat, Mr Chips was fantastic.

All in all a most pleasurable stay and Grantley House is deffinately on our must visit again list.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank walkersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We have just enjoyed a wonderful short break at Grantley House . Justin and Martin are excellent hosts and we were made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble for them. They are conveniently located close to the town centre within easy reach of all the amenities . The room was very well appointed, very comfortable and tastefully decorated the comments about the flowers and ornaments are in my view totally unfounded . There was a large 42" screen TV in our room with Sky freeview which was simple to operate , but you'll get a full demonstation of the controls on arrival anyway . You are spoilt for choice at breakfast with , I'm sure all tastes catered for. you would have to be an extremely fussy person indeed to find fault here . We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which set us up for the day . There is a TV in the dining room which was in no way a distraction, the volume is low and in fact we enjoyed watching breakfast TV as it created a homely atmosphere . Thankyou Justin and Martin we had an excellent break you are brilliant hosts and we will be back as soon as we can .

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigglestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

What is it with some b/b's that they overload their properties with artificial flowers and knick-knacks...dust gatherers all!? Have the confidence to chuck 'em is my advice.

That said, this is a friendly, trad. b/b, who offered to pick us up from station (we declined) and who serve a good choice at breakfast...the bacon is esp. good.

We are particularly incompetent with working any TV and would have appreciated a guide left in the room.

Our kingsize/twin bed was comfortable but room not large. Slight drainy smell in shower/toilet room. Large TV in breakfast room at bit distracting/overbearing if you want a quiet meal. Overall good value for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddiemitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Justin and Martin could not possibley be better hosts. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with added extras.Breakfasts cannot be faulted with lots to choose from and very generous portions. This is the second time we have stayed and have booked for New Year and Summer already.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishermanhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Justin is a really decent fella(and im not just saying that cos he is a fellow Leicester LAd!!!).
He gave us a really warm welcome which is what you want after a 3 and a half hour drive.
The B and B itself is on a road full of them and is tastly decorated if a little 'old style'
The room we had was en suite and we had no problems at all.
The breakfast was well worth the stay.
More than adequate servings and he had Veggie sausages too!!!
So all in all a really good B and B at a very resonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 151 in Whitby
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Beaches Guest House
#102 of 151 in Whitby
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#57 of 151 in Whitby
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#26 of 151 in Whitby
479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#98 of 151 in Whitby
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $100 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grantley House 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing